colorchallenge, Monday - red

"Here comes the King", graphite pencil, watercolor and acrylics on reverse side of glass

derkönig.jpg

Sort:  

Your art is beyond awesome @reinhard-schmid! I normally don't take time to scroll through the entire blog of one person but I did so here and it was an amazing journey. This king, the dragons and mechanism fish were my favorite. Looking forward to your future posts.

Most cordial thanks for your flattering compliments. Of course I'm always happy, when someone likes my work like that. I see, you are quite the artist yourself!

Keep up the good work. I however am not really an artist. I like all forms of art and I enjoy painting but I don't have real talent and I don't dedicate much time to develop skill. To me it's a nice relaxing hobby and that's it. You could maybe call me wannabe artist, as @oltimer would say :)

I can see that this is older, but it's great. I love the composition and the 'distressed' style of the paint.

the characterisations are spot on too

I esp. like 'my' character, the joker, the jester, the fool, or whatever you want to call him.

Post more of these too my friend.
I am looking at new artist friends so must keep moving, but I really want to see your tarot works too.

Do you use other techniques as well?
I have a daily art contest, so very small still, but I want to build a community around it.

If you are interested you are more than welcome
see you round

big hugs

Again, thank you for your kind compliments... haha, sorry for being silly all of a sudden. By mistyping this word, I think I invented a new one: "vompliment", hehe... like in vomit... of course it would have to be the opposite of "compliment". Not that anyone would need it anyways ;-)

To get back to the point, yes, I do also oil on canvas or board in a sort of old masters technique. My self portrait at "Fly with me" in https://steemit.com/art/@reinhard-schmid/fly-with-me is done that way.

If you find great art here, please drop a note or do that "@" sign trick.

Your contest sounds interesting. Will look for it in a bit. Maybe you can even send me a link in the meantime!

cu2

Congratulations @reinhard-schmid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fantastic work! I hope to see more. This is a very unique style of artwork. The sense of perspective is so intentionally flattened out, it creates a really neat classic sort of effect. For example, the boats near the King's head are actually floating on water in the distant background.

Everything including that sun is done in the same style, I love the added circles around the sun!

Compositionally, I thought the king was going to be a problem but as I looked at the image, the red/white of his gown split up the design nicely with the tiny little knight bouncing me back in to look at other details. My eyes skipped over to the kings boot, over to his loyal subjects, that strange eyeball on that guy's top hat, then up over the castle in the background, the hills, and finally back up to that wonderful sun again.

Great job! Keep it up and you will do great here!

Oh my god... someone who actually looked at this :-) Thank you so much for this outstanding "review". Followed you already, after you sparked my curiosity with your other post... there should be a "super-" or "prime-" follow option! I know I'll be reading (and of course upvoting) your posts a lot :-)

This painting is rather old, I did it some 15 years ago... a small series, including this king and two queens... one of them might be a good colorchallenge "yellow". With time my style has changed and I am curious what you will think about my newer work. Hope to see you around again!

Keep at it and you will pick up followers, this is exactly the kind of work that does real well around here.

Great job and it is very nice to meet you!

The only remaining question I have about this piece is...

Why did you paint it on glass, and what do you mean by the "reverse" side of glass? Glass is transparent so I am a bit confused.

Again, thank you for encouraging me.. as an artist I often doubt myself, so it does help when someone gives some good feed back.

Haha.. ok, the glass thing... I'll try (hard) to keep it short. I only spent a very short time at an academy and for various reasons it didn't work out. Therefore I learned traditional glass painting at my fathers studio and a nearby school. My dad was always very innovative and showed me a few tricks which still give me an edge today.

So called Hinterglasmalerei (painting on the reverse side of a sheet of glass) has a long tradition in Europe. Largely a thing of the past though, as the traditional themes are more or less "naive" or church related.

My dad invented a way to draw on the glass with a graphite pencil. Over some 30 years now I kept pushing the technique further and finally reached a point today, where I have a vague idea of what I'm doing and the results are somewhat predictable.

So, now I'm pretty much the only one working this way. Its sorta unique and I like it. The fact, that these artworks are so very fragile just adds to the value for me.

The glass being transperent is the important factor. You create the painting on one side.. kind of backwards and then you turn the sheet around. The paint and all is now on the backside of the glass and you look at it through the glass... make any sense?

Wow, thank you for explaining.

However, this response probably belongs in a post all to itself, as there appears to be a rather rich history here. I have never heard of this before and you could probably do well, finding some photos, or taking photos of the process and posting about it. I for one would be fascinated to see more about this process you are talking about.

And yes, flipping the glass over makes sense now but I never would have imagined!

@kidsysco I justs wrote a more detailed post about my work. In case you are interested, please come to https://steemit.com/art/@reinhard-schmid/what-is-hinterglas

Curious what you think :-)

Glad I could give you a better understanding of it. You are right, I should make a post, better explaining my work.

For now, please take a look at this:

This is great!!! Love it, the story, colors, drawing, characters, all of it! Thanks for shareing this wonderfull work, following and resteeming .

Thank you for your kind words! Off to my studio now, but I'll be back later, to take a closer look at your page. Looks promising :-)

Thank you @reinhard-schmit! Have a good day at studio :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80