Color Challenge: SundayPurple - Daisybush

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Today I went on my first Steemit-inspired photography outing. Up until now I'd been posting photos I'd taken before I joined this wonderful network.

I spent around three hours at my local botanical garden, taking 301 photos in total. Most of them will be deleted, but I took a few that I'm quite proud of. In particular, I practiced with my macro lens, which I haven't had much opportunity to use since I got it. If anybody has any tips for taking better macro photos, I'd love to hear them!

The flower below was one of my first subjects for the day. I was trying to focus on the nectar buds (I think that's what they are, at least). It's far from the best photo I took today, but it's one of the only purple ones :) At any rate, I had a really relaxing day (and quite a good workout from all the walking/crouching!)

I have a bunch of photos that I'm looking forward to sharing in the coming weeks. And of course, I'll keep getting out there and practicing. One thing that I really like about Steemit is that it gives me more of an incentive to get outside and work on finding interesting pictures.
Purple-Flower.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful photo @parton. It certainly was a shallow depth of field.

Thank you. I definitely feel like I'm not utilising the lens to its full potential. I got some great photos with it today, but I think with a bit of practice and learning I can take them to the next level.

Certainly practice makes perfect @parton. The only advice I can give would be to watch your depth of field and the amount in focus. Try changing the aperture to f4 instead of f2.8 to make sure you get the whole centre of the flower in focus. Other than that is a brilliant photo. Keep up the brilliant photography as always!

Nice tip, thank you. I'm slowly taking control of the various settings on my camera (instead of using auto mode). I'll definitely have to experiment with the aperture during my next photography outing.

One thing I don't like about my EOS M is that none of the lenses have an aperture ring on them, so I have to awkwardly change it via the camera's UI.

I'm used to using an aperture ring on all my lenses that I'm currently using I can't imagine what it would be like without it.

It'd probably be like driving a horse and cart instead of a car.

Haha yeah something like that!

Hi hi I posted the same flower for the color challange ;)

Nice shot.

Thanks, your photo turned out really good! Upvoted and followed :)

I've had a look at your blog. Nice, I now follow you too.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67