Color Challenge for TuesdayOrange

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

A West African Drummer for ColorChallenge - TuesdayOrange

Djembe drummer from Mali


TuesdayOrange-art.png

© @mrsomebody

Thinking of orange reminded me of the colorful flag of Mali. With those saturated African colors of red, green and orange, what better use of orange could I find than in an African drummer scene? This image is of a stylized lead drummer, playing to the moves of a dancer. He is interpreting the dance moves in real time, a creative act for him as well as the dancer. The color orange is associated with joy, sunshine, enthusiasm, expression, and creativity, so it felt like a good fit.

For years I studied West African drumming – the rhythms from Guinea, Mali, and Senegal. Along with learning the main hand drum djembe parts, I also studied the parts for the dunun drums, the small kenkeni, the medium sangban, and the large dunun drum. Those three drums are played with sticks on cowhide and bell. These rhythms are incredibly complex, and really teach you what polyrhythm means. When you are playing a 4:4 pattern against another drum playing in 6:8, they lock in places but move away in other places. It plays tricks on the mind, and I found I needed to listen to the relationships between my drum and two or three other parts, so that I could always understand where I was in the rhythm. Otherwise you get lost and don't know where you are, which results in messing up!

orange drummer outline.jpg
See my vector outlines here, and the ultra simple color palette. Adobe illustrator shows all the lines, even when they are masked in the color version. This makes the keyline mode confusing, especially when you are using complicated patterns or textures. Notice how the shirt pattern breaks out of the shirt area.

Thank you @kalemandra for inviting everyone to this challenge.

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

Dig this one ! Well done the styles of your art is solid.

Thanks @knablinz. I listened to your Side A WaterBear – very cool collage beats. Unfortunately most of the D sound audio just doesn't play for me, not sure why.

@mrsomebody yeah DSound can be super buggy I was not very pleased for the longest time I was unable to upload anything until just recently it decided to start working hopefully it gets more work done and they make it a more solid platform !

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86