Color Challenge for MondayRed

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

This piece is for ColorChallenge - MondayRed

Cocktail party gossip


Monday-red-cocktail.png
© @mrsomebody

Based on the cool style of California artist Shag, I created an image of two beautiful people engaged in cocktail party gossip. This simple image uses a stone background pattern, a line pattern in the man's jacket, and a simple circle pattern in the woman's dress.

Shag's paintings often show somewhat sinister elements in them. In my piece I show the man so absorbed in his monologue that he unconsciously flicks his cigarette into the woman's martini glass. The woman, too absorbed to notice, is wearing horns. Is it a costume party? We don't know!

outline-red-cocktail.png

In outline mode you can see how I drew the elements. I actually deleted the background stone pattern in it because it would be too confusing to see the main image otherwise. The version to the right shows it in full color, along with the color palette below. As an afterthought I introduced the blue color, which I feel gives some needed relief from the simple color palette.

Thank you @kalemandra for inviting everyone to this challenge.

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

Wow so impressive!

Thank you @livvu. It was fun to do.

I love this. It’s incredibly striking both in the post--and also in the thumbnail (which I take as a sign of a truly great image!).

Thanks so much @lilyraabe. I appreciate it. I think it is the simplicity of the image and bold colors that help it to hold up in a smaller size.

Good point (same could be said of your avatar image!).

Nice work. Simple and minimal. I like your style of illustration.

Thanks so much @ashimab. It's a fun challenge to make things as simple as possible, getting rid of everything that isn't necessary.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83