Fast Homemade Candles / Thursday Color ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

9254DD16-E8FC-415E-A1A4-72580A64173E.jpeg

Hello, Steemit fellas! Hello, Thursday!
Today I am participating in the challenge with one really easy and fast recipe for candle making at home!
I have wanted to try this for a long time and a month ago me and @rorxco bought the supplies and they were sitting in the kitchen and waiting for us. All you are going to needs is for 5 candles is :
400 gr wax pellets
5 candle wicks
colorful crayons
suitable cups
few plastic straws for stabilizing

F6308815-31EC-4F7D-8EE4-291366B37317.jpeg

First you need to make sure that your cups are clean and dry for perfect results. After that you have to attach the wicks on the bottom. I used hot glue gun and with only one drop of silicone they were stable enough. After that you have to prepare few holders f on the plastic straws. I used metal pig tails to strengthen them :

AC4AE076-899C-45B7-B39F-2B9FA568BB6C.jpeg

Now you can set your hot plate to medium temperature and fill one big pot with four fingers of water and put it on the stove. After that you can divide the wax pellets in few jars depending on the colors you are going to use. And after that comes the alchemy - cut different amounts of the crayons and put them in the jars with the wax pellets. After that you have to wait for 10 - 15 minutes so everything can melt and you have to stir until you have homogeneous mixture like this one :

6636E1E3-296D-4F4D-93DE-7DBDC082EB83.jpeg

After you have the mixture ready you can start pouring into the jars one by one depending on the result you want to achieve. In my case I wanted layer so I had to pour one color and then wait for it to hardens and then pour the next color.
I used and one small coffee cup and filled it with only two colors but the result was one cute orange tea candle.

3C55F0CA-69A9-48BD-9232-758FD6EA5C4A.jpeg

I have to say that this is really easy and fast to make and truly great idea for a gift to someone.
I even gave one candle to one my colleagues and she was so mesmerized by it! No matter with or without occasion you will be the star of homemade goodies if you choose to personalize one candle as a gift!

Stay tuned for more home/handmade goodie!
Miss Kate

Sort:  

It’s so cool havig home made candles :)) And this one is the cooles!

We have to make more! 👽🌈

that is a good one, well done.

Love your rainbow color candle! The straw wick place holders are a brilliant idea!! Something to keep in mind is crayons aren't the best colorant for candle making. They have large particles for the color pigment that can clog the wick while burning and cause the flame to go out. I haven't made candles with crayons because of this, so i have not experienced the problem myself. If you have a problem with the candle staying lit now you know why :)

Great job with your advanture into candle making! I enjoy it so much that it puts me in a relaxed state if being :)
God bless!

Happy to hear that! Otherwise beside the effect of coloring which is not so saturated I haven’t experienced that problem with the candles. We even burned 2 of them already! :D 🌈✌🏻

Awesome! It's what I've researched from the beggining of my candle making adventures years ago and stuck with the colorant meant for candles to avoid any possible problems. Just thought I'd let you know in case :) glad it worked out for you!!

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post was included in my Friday DIY Day Curation post today

Thank you for that appreciation and sharing my work, @goldendawne!

Interesting I liked your content very much your candles look very cute in colors, greetings. You have my support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50