It's a tomato!? No!! It's a small pumpkin!? No!! So what is it?

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Today I received a basket with organic vegetables and fruits including these green vegetables!

DSC_9802.JPG

I ordered the basket last Monday and checked all the products, but when I was storing the vegetables I couldn't remember what it was, I've never seen anything alike!
Some of you probably know this vegetable and are thinking how silly I am. It actually seems similar with something I already know, but green!?

Well, today is Thursday, at least it fits the ThursdayGreen
DSC_9800.JPG

I had five of them and I didn't know what I could do with it. A salad, a stew, a soup?!
DSC_9801.JPG

I had to stop what I was doing to check the email with the order. I needed to figure out what it was!

DSC_9803.JPG

In the email I found this was a green apple eggplant
Well, I found it was beringela maçã in portuguese, then I searched for "beringela" and "maçã" on google and only found recipes​ with eggplant and apple (not of great help). I had to search in English, and that was when I found: Green Apple Eggplant!!

DSC_9793.JPG
'The Green Apple eggplant is named for its visual similarities to a small Granny Smith apple' source

Now I just have to find out what to cook with!!

Any suggestions?





Please do not forget to check the other daily photography challenges:
Weekday Challenges:

Other challenges

Sort:  

I'm curious to know how they taste. You are so adventurous with unknown foods. I would like to join a vegetable delivery basket here as well. I know a few people who get them. I would feel like I was getting a present! :)

I'm not that adventurous, but i'm open to try a different product from time to time. I'm not a big fan of​ eggplants, hope I can make these ones taste ok (at least). I don't receive these baskets in a weekly basis (but I could, if I wanted), but I love to receive them. Even I know what I ordered, it'a always a surprise, like this time with the eggplants!! :)

Looks like a pumpkin to me. The round ones grown in our village area look exactly the same.

The skin of this vegetable is thin, unlike the pumpkin skin. At least the pumpkins that I know ;)

I found similar images on google when searching for green apple eggplant. I'm not an expert though, or eggplant lover!

Eu não conhecia este vegetal, é a primeira vez que oiço falar dele, parece um tomate verde lol. Aonde posso comprar?

Foi o que eu pensei, que me tinham mandado tomates verdes, mas a consistência não era de tomate :p Comprei uma daquelas cestas/cabazes de vegetais de agricultura biológica. É de uma empresa dos arredores de Évora (Courelas do Monte), que também faz entregas em Lisboa e redondezas. De vez em quando vem algo de novo, e hoje saiu-me esta beringela maçã!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99