Colorchallenge: Thursday Green

Happy Aloha Thursday Folks!

There are over 7000 species of long-legged files (Dolichopodidae). These are a few from my yard. They are small, not more than a 1/4-inch long. Because long-legged flies feed on other tiny bugs, they are considered beneficial. I couldn’t see all their details until I looked at the pictures I took on my computer.

DSCF1942_800x480.JPG

While the photos aren’t great, they are pretty good for a point and shoot camera. It takes some patience to capture the flies because they move around quite a bit. One thing I’ve noticed is that they are more likely to rest after they’ve caught prey and are feeding. Still, you look like an idiot sitting in the bushes. They come in different colors but these are the green ones.

DSCF1960_800x480.JPG
This one caught a bug.

DSCF3019_800x480.JPG
All photos by the author in Honolulu.



I love all animals.
I have a fascination with fish, birds, whales-
sentient life-
insects, reptiles.

-Nicolas Cage


Mahalo in advance for any looks, upvotes, follows, or comments;
I appreciate it.


My colorchallenge from yesterday:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@lightrhythm/5ed29j-colorchallenge-wednesday-yellow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63