Colorchallenge: Thursday Green

Happy Thursday Steemians!

I’m a bit torn as an animal lover. You see I love parrots and I know they are sentient beings. On the other hand, I can see and imagine what kind of damage they do; especially in mass. Have you ever been around a parrot? They bite things just to bite things. And when I say bite, I mean they tear it apart. They can’t help it.

DSCF5295_800x480.JPG

I’m talking about the Indian ringneck parakeets aka rose-ringed parakeets. Not sure why they call them parakeets because they seem like straight up parrots to me. BTW, there are a lot of cute videos on youtube of them talking; the same ones that are now flying around in flocks here.


DSCF5293_600x540.JPG

Unfortunately, the previously small amount of parrots now number in the thousands and they are starting to do major damage to the food crops. The farmers are growing increasingly upset. The climate is perfect for these parrots to have multiple clutches per year. They lay between 2 to 6 eggs each time. The longevity for a ringneck in the wild is between 15 and 30 years. As with most other invasive species, survival comes at a price to local flora and fauna, and in this case, agriculture.

DSCF5307_800x480.JPG
I think this is a young male because his beak is rather robust.

DSCF5291_800x480.JPG
All photos and video by the author in Honolulu.

They’re wild animals just doing what comes naturally; surviving. I will share my mangoes with them. Not all but some. Before introducing animals into a foreign land we must consider the consequences. We can no longer be ignorant of what might happen because ultimately we are responsible.

Bonus short video (1:09) of snippy parrots eating my green mangoes. Sorry the quality is not great:



There is a way to touch
the angels of the skies:
Gaining the trust of birds!

-Mehmet Murat ildan


Mahalo in advance for any looks, upvotes, follows, or comments;
I appreciate it.


My colorchallenge from yesterday:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@lightrhythm/3eptij-colorchallenge-wednesday-yellow

Sort:  

very beautiful birds
it is perfect for this event

Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34