How Learning Intuitive Painting Changed My Art Life Forever....steemCreated with Sketch.

In 1989, I had graduated from the School of Visual Arts in NYC 4 years prior.

I was doing editorial illustration, living in Manhattan at 309 W. 109th Street, in Morningside Heights. My homebar was the now defunct, West End Cafe...

And I was doing the Lifespring Trainings where I had met some good people and a couple, Marcia and Dick had bought me a ticket to a weekend workshop called "Painting From The Source" which was being held at The Open Center in Soho.

I was completely blocked. 4 years of editorial illustration - trying to solve other people's problems visually for a living - I could not draw or paint worth a lick ANY MORE.

My friend Marcia dragged me to this workshop.

It was lead by this Art Therapist, Aviva Gold, who had trained with this artist Michelle Casseou - who had come up with this process in France.

I took this weekend workshop and I was set free. That was 1989 and I have never been blocked since. I began teaching the class myself - soon after - I am not certified by either of these people but I have my own experience now.

Doing art this way - gave me intuition - which I was not in touch with at all at that time. I left the city soon after - gave up commercial art, moved upstate to Woodstock, NY to paint and bartend. I did this for many years. I did end up going for my MFA in Integrated Electronic Art at RPI - and used the same process for video, computer music and performance...

Now, 28 years later, I am psychic - and still doing art this way and teaching the techniques I have developed. I might occasionally get bored with my subject matter, but I am never blocked. Most recently I am teaching myself Alchemy and Tarot by copying images from that time.

Sort:  

Really interesting art pieces!
Tarot has always been confusing to me, I just can't intuitively read the cards like several of my friends can. I guess it's just not part of my "gifts".
I think I'm a peripheral visionary, I can see the future, but only off on the edges...

I know - I am like you - that's why I am trying to use the images instead of the words. The images are fascinating.

Fascinating! Good for you...some never find that kind of freedom!

Upvoted & resteemed.

Thanks for your comment! That's why I shared it in a post - I had recently shared it with a new artist - and I thought - if i share this as a post then maybe more people will try it. I just taught it to someone the other day and she took to it in 3 hours - she and I are going to teach an intuitive painting/writing workshop together. I see that this dude is teaching it online - but I just cannot imagine how effective that would be - because there is somehting to the energy of all the students in the room together and the walking around and looking at others work and talking about it later - that is part of that whole process of blowing the lid off!!!

You're very welcome! I would think that interaction with each other would add so much to the process. Sounds like you're on to something...keep up the great work!

Love your art!! And your story. I am so grateful so many artists are sharing their stuff on Steemit. :)

thank you @boomshikha - I checked out your blog - commented on one of your articles and also checked out your website... As I have said, I want to share this technique I learned so many years ago because it put me into my right brain - and now I can flow there to retrieve art - I try to keep the 2 balanced, but I am more right-brained as a result... blessings!

That makes absolute sense. Meditation has helped me a lot with being more right-brained, or more balanced in general. Have you tried that?

You are a great artist! Very nice biigraphy too. Thank you for sharing your history.

hey good to hear from you! I just wanted to share this "way" that changed my art life forever in case anyone else is blocked... I don't think the teachers of this class really know what they are helping people tap into - it's been such a crazy experience since I got out of my left-brained imbalance...

Great teachers leave a huge impact. I had an art teacher in 4th grade that visited my school once a week. She was a teacher from The Art Institute. She was an awesome teacher that I wiil never forget. Have a great day!

I totally agree about intuitive art! It is so freeing. I haven't posted any of mine yet, but maybe soon.

ahh - so did you do a class like that too? Yes! It is amazing! Such a blessing... I think I might have died if I had not taken that workshop when I did - it opened me up to be ready to change my life entirley

I didnt take a class, but I saw this video by Flora Bowley and I was hooked.

interesting - that's acrylic right? I don't think there would be a way to show on video the class I took/teach without giving away the secrets that I had to experience - not let my ego know about before hand - but this is cool too.

Yes, acrylics. Here is her website..https://florabowley.com/
She offers a couple of free online classes that you can sign up for. It inspires me.

thanks - I will check it out...it's funny how she wears nice clothes and only gets paint on her hands- this is never what happens to me. I am covered head to toe with paint if I wear nice clothes.

Lol! I would imagine that is a bit staged. She probably owns lots of paint spattered clothes.

I lost my password. :/

This is my new account. (Reaching out to followers.) I was previously @ZTetrahedron369.

so sorry - that happened to me to - a few times - but somehow it was stored in my browser so I was able to just go into settings and change it - I have to do that again - because the last time I see that I did not save it properly... totally scary... blech

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57810.80
ETH 3056.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24