Color Challenge - ThursdayGreen: The Star Flyer

For today's color challenge I am posting a couple pictures.. it is of the same subject but different angles to give some context. This is a fairground ride that is part of the Edinburgh Christmas Market called the star flyer. Its fun to photograph, fun to watch but it will be a cold day in hell before you ever get me on that ride.

20161126-IMG_5101.jpgf/22 53sec ISO 100 @ 50mm

This is what it looks like when you stand directly underneath it... see the white lines along the outside? Those light trails come from the seats people sit in.

20161126-IMG_5141.jpgf/22 4sec ISO 100 @21mm

Here's a daytime shot of the ride so you can see how utterly flimsy it looks. Plastic seats attached to cable and then spun around at altitude? NOPE. Not for me thanks. I mean, I don't have a fear of heights.. but I certainly have a fear of falling to my death from a great height.

20161204-IMG_5146.jpgNOPE NOPE NOPE

I am clearly in the minority because its one of the most popular rides every year.


Thanks for looking.
Follow me: @fiftysixnorth

Sort:  

I figure if somewhere big, fancy and expensive like Alton Towers can have so many issues, small travelling groups that just put up the rides at certain times of year have no chance. So I'll be avoiding that like the plague as well!

Absolutely. In fact a couple years ago one of the chairs fell off. The people that had been sitting in it had just gotten out from what I understand.. or the ride had just ended and before they got out it fell off.. I'm not clear on the details any more. No one was hurt, but that just confirmed for me that its a death trap waiting to happen.

Ok, now I completely understand your latest post. I somehow missed this...so amazing!

I am a thrill seeker but I have to agree with you, this ride makes my gut jump just looking at it. There is a much lower to the ground version of this at a local amusement park and it absolutely freaks me out. It seems like lawn chairs hooked onto some pretty skimpy chains. Rode it once...that was plenty.

Upvoted & resteemed!

Thank you for the vote and resteem! I'm glad I'm not the only one that thinks its a deathtrap! :)

You are very welcome. You are most certainly not alone. I have concocted several scenarios on how those kinds of rides could end badly...quite the active imagination I have. Probably should spend my time concocting other things. ;)

Have an excellent day!

thanks, I wish you an excellent day too :)

Wow awesome quality in those pictures! I love it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fiftysixnorth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great colours!

wow! ok, had to follow you now :D

Thank you so much! I have followed you back :)

thank you =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44