ColorChallenge - Sunday Purple - Lavender and Bees - Photography

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Last Sunday, I ended up creating a "garden post" that focused on all the various purple flowers we have in our garden.

Honeybee
Golden honeybee on the lavender

As part of that post, I mentioned how our purple lavender was starting to bloom. Since then, we've had some warm and sunny days-- so now the lavender is truly in full bloom.

BumbleBee
Bumble Bee on lavender

So I thought I'd enter a post in @kalemandra's photography #colorchallenge since today is "Sunday Purple," in the rotation. Incidentally-- for those who haven't spotted it yet, the colors of the color challenge correspond to the traditional colors associated with the Chakras in the human body.

Doing it a little bit differently, this week.

Part of the fun of having a garden with almost 100 lavender plants is that-- during flowering season-- they attract a vast array of bees, butterflies and other insects. So today, I wanted to make this photo-post not just about purple lavender, but also about various species of bees that visit us on a regular basis.

Honeybees
Both types of honeybees we get here

Photographing "busy bees" is not as easy as it might sound. First of all, they are constantly moving around from flower to flower, so half the photographs become of empty space. And just because I happen to get a bee (or two!) in the frame doesn't mean it necessarily stays in focus.

BumbleBee
Action shot! Bumble bee taking off!

I shot about 300 images in order to get around a dozen or so "decent" photos, the best of which are in this post. Next to butterflies, I'd have to say that bees are among the trickiest insects to photograph.

As you can see, we have several species of bee.

Most common are the regular golden honeybees, but we also seem to get a less common dull brown honeybee. We also get a couple of types of bumblebees, but today I could only find one type out... the ones with the dark orange butts were conspicuously absent.

With respect to our lavender, it was originally planted as a surround for our labyrinth in 2012. Given how large and healthy the plants are today-- almost a low hedge-- it's hard to believe these were tiny plants in 4-inch pots when we got them!

Honeybee
Another action shot! I think this one just got tired of the camera!

And that's pretty much my "Sunday Purple" entry for today! I appreciate you indulging my photography interest.

If you're interested in some great photography from some of Steemit's finest, I also suggest checking out the supporting @colorchallenge page! There, you will also more explanatory posts about the challenge, as well as a number of resteems of participants' posts.

How about YOU? Have you ever participated any of the photography color challenges? Are you a nature photographer? Have you ever tried photographing nature's small creatures, like butterflies and bees? Leave a comment-- share your own experiences and feedback!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Posted 20170716 23:05 PDT

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos for the challenge. It is SO much fun, I enter it often. Something to shoot for now and then as different than writing. Though that still seems to surface.
We had hives of bees, lost two sets. So very sad. I feel for them, and they are so important to us. I'm leaving a bunch of Thistles right now fir the bumblers, etc, then will cut them. Have a nice night, and thanks for another great post.

I like to enter something when I feel creative; when it truly can be a "challenge." Not so interested in just posting a random photo for the purpose of just "filling space."

This was a find sidetrack because I got to sit with the bees for about an hour... Sorry about your hives... that's very sad. Bees are a precious resource... without them, we ALL die.

It just amazes me when I see beautiful shots like this. One, the patience. Two, the eye for the shot. I love pictures of bees...just never want to be too close to them. lol

It might surprise you to learn that I am allergic to bee stings! If I were to get stung, I might need a trip to the ER, if I don't have an epi pen handy. Fortunately, these are all very peaceful; no angry "Africanized" bees here.

It was actually fun to spend about an hour out by the lavender, capturing these shots. Had hoped to get a few butterflies as well, but they seems to take off before I could get near them.

One day I'm going to have a lovely garden and I want to try my hand at beekeeping. I think it could do well here in Florida. I'm not allergic to bees but it's definitely not pleasant to get stung! Oh! Do you have hummingbirds too?

Do you have your own honeybee hive as well? You certainly seem to get a few. GL entering the contest.

Yes, we do get lots... there's quite a buzz out there when it's a sunny day. The blackberries are also in bloom at the moment, so we get more bees from there, as well.

Don't have our own hives... being a beekeeper might be interesting.

Bees having hard times on the planet...🤐
Should be around more gardens like this one.
If they die we die

@rapdenny, sadly true... we have done much to destroy their habitats; all we can do is plant natural gardens that are friendly to them. Without bees... yes, we are all dead.

It's hard to catch them, this is a real challenge. I have almost the same post as you. Beautiful photos :)

Yes @pepe.maya, they are always moving around so quickly... seldom sit still long enough to get in focus. I will check your post!

I like your post. Bees are my favorite insects. I have lavender too in my garden and it's the best place to take pictures. This was my entry few days ago for colorchallenge: https://steemit.com/photography/@aci7/color-challenge-sunday-purple-complementary-colors

Thank you @aci7! Lavender is nice for much photography because it attracts so many insects... which always make interesting subject matter.

I'll check out your post!

beautiful photography I must admit, you know your way round a camera, great post. @denmarkguy

Thank you! I do enjoy experimenting with photography.

that is so pretty.....@denmarkguy

Great post. Check out my bee photos at @jetjockey

I love lavender. It smells amazing :)

Yes, it's very nice! We always keep some dried in the house, in little bags-- very refreshing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32