Colorchallenge – Sunday Purple ~ Rose of Sharon Flowers (& Short Story)

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

I took these photos last week. I was outside with my kids when we heard a big boom and a car horn go off. That is one of the downsides of living near a big road. We knew right away it was a car accident and that it was very close and sounded pretty bad. Within minutes we heard the sirens. My son was just getting ready to walk to Starbucks which is just a few blocks from our home and my daughter was expecting someone to pick up one of her rabbits. I was concerned for the person she was expecting because I worry about those kinds of things and was hoping the person involved was not the person she was expecting. I was also worried about my son walking to Starbucks with all the commotion so I decided to walk up to the end of the street and check out what was going on. Turns out it was less than two blocks from my house. When I got up there, I saw my son already walking back with his drink and I also saw that the accident, thank goodness, did not involve the person my daughter was waiting for.

So, I guess by now you may be wondering what this has to do with the Rose of Sharon flowers?! Well, I had been admiring this Rose of Sharon tree/bush which is about a block from my house and it just so happens I had to walk right by it. It still had lots of blooms also so I stopped to snap a few photos. Goodness knows when next I’d have a chance. The bush was pruned to look more like a tree and had lots of purplish looking flowers. There was a smaller bush there as well which had white flowers. Here are some photos I took while I was up there. The flowers look like the hibiscus flowers I have in my front yard but smaller. Makes sense since they are related. I’ll definitely be looking to get one of the larger bushes for my yard soon…maybe even two!

roseofsharon1ok.jpg

roseofsharon2ok.jpg

roseofsharon3ok.jpg

roseofsharon4ok.jpg

roseofsharon5ok.jpg

Couple photos of the white blooms.

roseofsharon6ok.jpg

roseofsharon7ok.jpg

Oh! Here is a photo of the accident. Luckily, I don’t believe anyone was very seriously hurt but I do think the Toyota may have been totaled.

accident1.jpg

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! xoxo

Those are sure very beautiful flowers, really nice
photos 🌺 @deerjay! Poor toyota tho, glad everyone's ok!
Do get some of those bushes!! :-)

Thank you @shasta!! Yeah, I had a Camry that was totaled in 2008 and it brought back bad memories. I'm glad too that everyone was ok. I would love to get a couple..maybe next year. 😊

Beautiful indeed Dee! I can see why you would like some of those bushes. Not many roses blooming here now the nights are getting cooler.
Glad no one hurt in the accident. xoxo

Thanks Jo!! I'm glad too. I really don't like to see things like that. Saw too much bad stuff when I was little but I'm pretty sensitive to such things anyway.
I told my husband earlier that I want to get a couple and in that color and a blue one but the blue looks more lilac. More rain here and last two days were chilly..the weird weather continues. xoxo

Gorgeous floral images @deerjay The red centres are stunning. It was good to hear that no one was hurt in that accident. You must have been very relieved.

Thank you @trudeehunter! I was very happy that no one was seriously hurt.

Dee @deerjay. I wanted to let you know where I and some others from Steemit are while the hard fork is being straightened out. WEKU is a site similar to Steemit. I don’t think WEKU $$ is worth anything at present but you never know in the future. If you want to check it out. My referral link: https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=redheadpei

Thanks Jo! Don't know that I'm up to it but I appreciate the thought. If I do then I will def use your referral. xoxo

Now that Steemit is back on track, it will be a lot to keep up with both sites.xoxo

I can't believe I missed this one! How are you and sorry I cannot vote, but, just know I would.

Do not buy a large Rose of Sharon. They are quick growers and I had to move mine. I bought a little bush and in two years (perhaps 2 1/2 It grew to seven feet tall - hello! And bushy! They bush out!

I love it and now it is in a place where it will have all the room it wants!

Hi, @deerjay!

Thanks Denise! I'm glad you told me that and will now rethink getting one. The Hibiscus I have is spreading out more so I think I will just stick with those. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72