Color Challenge. Thursday Green. Come into the Circle of Love. Original Photography.

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Maat: Winged Goddess rising from chaos. On a platform of stone.
Balancing the hearts of mankind against a feather.
Upon your scales of balance and justice.
Help me remember why I am here.
Here on Planet Earth
~Ally.

The Lake.

I often walk to the local lake early in the morning. The lake is actually a man made dam on the highest plateau of an eighteen hole golf course, overlooking valleys and creeks of the Garigal National Park and Sydney’s Middle Harbour.

The greens are meticulously manicured, with dividing strips of indigenous bushland with many varieties of trees: She oaks, eucalypts, bottle brush and banksia with indigenous flowers: Rock orchids, kangaroo paws and tea tree.

The lake and its surrounding area is home to many creatures: Insects, birds and indigenous ducks ~ A nesting area has been provided for the ducks in the centre of the lake, to help protect them from feral foxes.

2300.1-1.ROSES.feathers-3.jpg

Come out of the circle of time. And into the circle of love. ~Rumi.
Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.

Duck feathers.

I often come away from the lake area with feathers from white cockatoos and magpies and a few weeks ago, I came upon upon a large number of duck feathers, in absolute pristine condition. So many that I had the feeling there may have been a duck squabble the previous night.

The circle of love.

In this arrangement, I laid down a horizontal line of rocks, loosely placed some Spanish Moss over them and then placed a white rose 'bouquet' in the centre.

A circle of twelve duck feathers was formed so that their iridescent emerald green glinted when positioned at a certain angle. And the final touch were the soft velvety muted blue green leaves.

Color Challenge for all Steemians.

This is my third image in the 'Color Challenge for Steemians' presented by @kalemandra.

A different colour is designated to each day of the week, for the photographs shared on that day. Use the tag #ColorChallenge along with the tag for that day ie today's tag is #ThursdayGreen.

Details at: 'Color Challenge for Steemians.'

About my work.

Relatively small assemblages or arrangements are built from flowers, weeds and plants combined with other natural materials that I find in the local bushland or surrounding urban streets.

During the creation of these pieces ~ The process is incredibly magical. Thoughts of anything else are silenced.

Sometimes a song or quote or other ideas/thoughts/words come to me, as I look at the resulting images. Giving form to new expressions ~ Short 'poems' to accompany the images.

A fuller description is in my introductory article: The Heart of Immortality

I really enjoy receiving comments and questions about my work. Especially from people who may see and add another dimension from their own reality. So if you have another layer to add ~ Please do.

Sort:  

you might like this
Please re-steem if you do.

Looks really interesting. Love the idea of having a Steemit store. Like to know more about this initiative. ♥︎

Have been thinking of publishing a book: 'Peace and Roses' based on the photography of my ephemeral art. Had been thinking in terms of it being an actual book, but thinking now it could be an ebook as well. ♥︎

Love the subtlety of the colors, its all very soft and soothing. Its great that you can make such beautiful works with things you find! Like this things get a new life!

Thanks so much Mirjam. I loved the iridescent turquoise, almost emerald green, on some of the duck feathers. And so I selected more neutrally coloured stones, flowers and leaves for the arrangement, to bring this vividness out.

I love the nature of ephemeral art in that many of the elements I use, can be used again ~ And again. Hope you are having a wonderful week-end. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36