The pressure is on...

in #college7 years ago

I went into a meeting today with one of my advisers from college thinking I knew exactly what I wanted to do in life. As I was sitting there talking to my advisers I realized how confused I was on what I really wanted in life. Do I want a big salary? Do I want to make a huge difference? Do I want to do something I am super passionate about? All off these things crossed my mind when in reality I probably should already have this figured out. Now I am even more stressed than I was before with college...I guess I just need to figure out what I really want. I feel like this is a problem for a lot of college students universally. The pressure is always on to find a good job, but what if what I am good at isn't considered a good job? Does that mean I get a "good job" that I hate and be miserable for the rest of my life? I don't know. The pressure is definitely on. These were just my thoughts today.

Sort:  

Meanwhile I was reading your post I felt like if those were my words. I felt very identified with you, and as you wrote, with many other for sure. I think this pressure is part of the system and competition, however, I think in my case are basically two things; first, the enormous fear of made a bad decision and second, the uncertainty about this life meaning. It would be nice to talk about that in the future. With no intention to make myself promotion I would like to put my introduction if you want to read it. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hilaria/a-brief-introduction Anyway, I will follow you to know how is going your try to figure out what to do. Cheers!

Hmmmmnnn. Dilemma of every graduate, funny enough, I'm at the same cross road. I guess rigorous brainstorming or even deep self reflection can help uncover the gold mine already deposit in oneself. My advice, seek all available counsel and make your decision. Whatever your decision is, stay glue to the decision, success is closer than imagine.

Thank you so much. I will remember you advice when deciding.

IMO you should do something you are passionate about and love. If you do that you won't dread work. When your goal is "money" or a just a "good job" many if not most will hate their work. When you do something you are passionate about you want to work daily and it doesn't feel so much like work as it does having a purpose. You are smart you will figure out your path. You just started college and it is normal to not have it all figured out at this point.

I am really stressed about it all because I do not want to waste time taking classes I do not need to be taking.

You will figure it out, follow your heart, it will steer you in the right direction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34