A Brief Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Before I start to introduce a little bit about me I want to explain one of the reasons I'm here. I recently studied an English course in Canada, of course I learnt just the basics of the language. One of the activities they encouraged us doing to practice is writing short essays. I found the steemit community few days ago and I think this is an extraordinary project to share and discuss information freely. As you can notice I'm not a native English speaker, so It's hard to express all I would like to, but this is me trying to do it and hoping the community could make some comments about it. Corrections are welcome!   

A Brief Story About Me 

When I was a child I used to look at the sky every night. I wondered how those brilliant little points could be enormous "fire balls". How was it possible that we could see a giant object , such the moon, just above us. It always seemed to me a marvelous view! As I always was a curious and extremely imaginative child (just as all children are), I thought I was going to be an astronaut; that some day I would see the Earth from space and be the first human to put a foot on Mars. Of course, there is a big gap between dreams and reality.

As I was growing up I started to enjoy doing many different activities like singing, dancing, acting, debating and so on. Some professors that had taught me at school, thought I was going to be an actress or a lawyer since I always had defended my naughty classmates; and for a moment I believed that too. I was kind of confused, so when It was time to decide on a high school, I had applied for both schools, and arts school and science school. I had been doing the admission exam for arts school when I remembered the feelings and dreams I had when I was a child. Suddenly, I left the room (with my unfinished exam) and went outside to choose the science school. I had decided to become the astronaut of my childhood.

I was taking my first classes at science high school. I hadn't been a complete month when I saw a poster about a theater club. Because of my personality, I thought It would be a good idea to give the arts a chance as a hobby. So, there I was, trying to do both. As usually happens, I couldn't do both for a long time, thus I left theater club and focused on my studies. High school had ended so I applied to a physics and maths university as well as theater school, yes... again. I was accepted in both so I tried to study both, and yes, again I couldn't maintain the workload, then I left the theater school, again? Yes...again!

I finished with a major as a physicist and I was supposed to be a mature student so one year later I started my master studies in astronomy. By this time, I had realized that I was never going to be a NASA astronaut (as I have Mexican nationality). However, I had the expectation to do something close to it, like astronomy. It didn't matter; when I finally got my master's degree I had an existential crisis and one year ago I started to study theater again!

Neither an astronaut nor an actress. Even when I thought for a moment I would touch the stars, not literally of course, I have always been persecuted by a dramatic part of me that I can't understand. So, what have I learned? Nothing at all, I'm still trying to figure out.

Sort:  

Welcome to this awesome platform it seems that you have a lot of interest that you can share here. =)

Thanks a lot! It is pretty amazing how warm the community is. :)

hola! I like your post! Thanks for it! I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? I also just wrote a introduce yourself. Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://busy.org/introduceyourself/@mykarma/1-jail-review-bitcoins-3-years-ago

What a story of you! I just read the first part of it and I'm surprised. Great to meet you here.

Welcome to steemit. If you ask me, life is all about finding out stuff. Keep looking. Who knows what adventures are waiting :). I am also new to this adventure of steemit and finding my voice, bit by bit.

Great! It is so heartwarming to know there are many people who feels the same way. Bit by bit, I like it!

Hey, welcome to SteemIt!

I went to an observatory once and it was really an amazing experience being to see all the amazing details and lights in places where I'll never be able to go out in the void of space.

Just because you're not in the US doesn't mean you can't get to space. If Rodolfo Vela did it, why can't you?

Anyway, if theater's your dream, pursue that for a while. There's plenty of time to work through the existential crises!

Whatever, you end up doing, I wish you good luck - And I hope that you have good luck on SteemIt!

Thanks a lot for the welcome!

I know the sensation. At school you learnt about the magnificent objects that are in the space but when you can see them through a telescope it is amazing.

Yes, I know, that man is such a great inspiration. And, thank you for the wishes, I think I will need them since I'm still trying to discover my calling. My best wishes for you too!

Dear, don't lose your hope.Confidence yourself is the only way to bit everything. I always think every person is special !!

That is true. The question is, is there a true calling for everyone?

Some people have less confidence But You said great.Everybody should you follow your post.

Wow, what an amazing introduction. You commented on my post earlier and asked me to take a look, well here I am. You definitely just gained a follower. Can't wait to see more.

That's great you like it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38