Thoughts... Getting ready for semester 2 of college.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #college6 years ago

I sit here writing, knowing that tomorrow, I move back to college for my second semester of college. After 1 whole month of break (32 days actually), I feel like I am ready to go back. This month of break has been really nice spending time with my 2 sisters. Both of them went back to their colleges last week, so the house has been kind of boring during the day this last week. After hard work in the first semester, I ended with a 3.876 GPA, something I thought could never happen to me. After all, I was only a 3.25 GPA student in high school and college is harder.

After being in class 15 hours a week, versus 35 hours a week in high school, I found that I'm a lot more productive, even though I have more work to do outside of class. I started to wonder how on earth I achieved such a great semester, given that I'm not a "get to it" type of person. One of the conclusions I came to is that there is less burnout. Half the time I spent in high school classes, we were doing work that could easily be done outside of class, but it was mandatory we get it done in class. Working on an English essay for a 90 minute block does me no good if I have no ideas to write about. In college English last semester, I was able to think about my prompt throughout the day, totally unintentionally. Because of my unconscious thinking, I was able to write the essays with more ease. This is just 1 example of how college work is different.

After such an amazing semester, I got thinking about this and formulated a question. If college is more work than high school, why is it less stressful and less burn out? I think the majority of the answer comes down to less time in class, resulting in less time to get bored with the subject. So if college has more work without feeling more stress, why don't we do this in high school too? I think it's time to change the high school system to a more college like system.

Thanks for reading,
Logan

Sort:  

This makes sense to me! There are a lot of things re: education that we're just now coming to realize. Also, education needs to change its main focus from grades to learning. It's one thing to have grades as a kind of reference point, but a student's success shouldn't be based on grades alone.

One of the most successful guys in several fields (among them writing, acting, directing, and producing) found school to be extremely difficult for him, thanks to having a very real developmental challenge called dyslexia.

Neither his parents nor his teachers expected him to succeed in life -- and there were many times when he, himself, wondered if he would ever be seen as successful -- but he never gave up, and, now, many people know who Henry Winkler is and hold him in high regard.

So glad that you're finding college to your liking. I loved college, too, and still (at the "tender age" of 65) have kept my love for learning.

Yet, there was a short time in my life when I proclaimed that I hated college and wanted to drop out -- which was a period of time that didn't last very long at all, and I was actually reacting to some scary things happening to my mind at the time. Anyway, that's a whole other story and very fitting to be told here at @steemit. It was actually a letter sent to me by @tecnosgirl's mom that brought me to my senses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65045.20
ETH 3523.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37