You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts... Getting ready for semester 2 of college.

in #college6 years ago

This makes sense to me! There are a lot of things re: education that we're just now coming to realize. Also, education needs to change its main focus from grades to learning. It's one thing to have grades as a kind of reference point, but a student's success shouldn't be based on grades alone.

One of the most successful guys in several fields (among them writing, acting, directing, and producing) found school to be extremely difficult for him, thanks to having a very real developmental challenge called dyslexia.

Neither his parents nor his teachers expected him to succeed in life -- and there were many times when he, himself, wondered if he would ever be seen as successful -- but he never gave up, and, now, many people know who Henry Winkler is and hold him in high regard.

So glad that you're finding college to your liking. I loved college, too, and still (at the "tender age" of 65) have kept my love for learning.

Yet, there was a short time in my life when I proclaimed that I hated college and wanted to drop out -- which was a period of time that didn't last very long at all, and I was actually reacting to some scary things happening to my mind at the time. Anyway, that's a whole other story and very fitting to be told here at @steemit. It was actually a letter sent to me by @tecnosgirl's mom that brought me to my senses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43