You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: College is an extension of our childhood

in #college5 years ago

I agree Kids and young people today have laptops and I-phones to use in there communication but they are not taught or instructed how to communicate face to face out in the world nothing against young millennials they just are not taught any social & communication skills let alone any self reliance without a laptop. My grand children think I am a little weird but they would probably be able to tie there own hook on some fishing line and light a campfire safely so we can cook it for lunch. One is only just 6 and has been challenge with health issues since birth but he know enough to get his life jacket on when we go in a boat or water vacuum the pool and he brings grampa's for him too. He has a good safety attitude and became very upset when my daughter & son-in-law took him on a ferry boat ride. He finally settled down when my daughter ask a purser to show him were the life jackets are kept, and told him he would be one of the first to get one in an emergency situation. My point is try to drag your children away from campus and the parties and teach them manors, skills that you know as a parent or a grandparent. you never know when it my make life better for you and them and don't be afraid to show them some tough Love, especially getting them away from the parties they will only learn how to drink alcohol and deal with hangovers unless they go to Staxxxcks college they can learn a second language just ordering a coffee.

Sort:  

Face to face interaction is so important to learn. The problem with school is that in many ways, it is a prison. You can be awkward and the person or people you are talking to cannot run away. So you will have multiple opportunities to salvage a bad situation. You will not get those chances in real life. When you mess up, people have the freedom to easily walk away from you.

Yes you are probably a good judge of peoples body language and attitudes when working around them and you hit the nail on the head about having multiple opportunities to solve problems face to face. I find it hard to solve any issues with government services, banking and business account online and over the phone, because it is a marathon of time that you don't have to text all the little details of what you are trying to solve with a rep. Then when you are totally exhausted and frustrated they will send a tech personal to your location and they confirm its broken and 2 days from now they will be back with a new modem or new hardware. great! When that happens to me that is why I am off line for a couple days. So being a newbee at this I am happy I found an ally to consort with.
Being an aged person I was a young mechanic in an automotive Transmissions repair shop I was taught how to diagnose, and quote an estimate to customers face to face and using a few simple testing tools and test operating the vehicle my mentor taught me how not only to talk to people on a respectful level, we were always accurate or slightly lower with the estimates. The only complaint we had is from the hot rodders that they wanted the transmission to shift more solid so they could lay rubber every time the automatic shifted a gear, It took a 5 minute adjustment and small penlight screwdriver, and also a courtesy warning that we could set back when they were tired of buy new rear tires or drive train part and some came back and admitted that they should have listened before they damaged everything behind our repaired or rebuilt transmission.
All in all those were the days when we learned some integrity, honesty and pride in our everyday living. These days I have to get online and start a chat with a rep. my cell phone is my tool box. Don't get me wrong there is a lot of good people in these rep chat center I just have to pick up my texting and typing skills to keep up with the world. I still like to meet people face to face I just feel better when I see a smile on there face. Thank you for listening to an old die hard, try and have a wonderful day and reply with little tips for me please just keep them simple. they are appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67