My Art for Collaborative Art Journey..."ANGLES OF LIGHT" No. 31

in #collaborativeartjourney7 years ago (edited)

I am excited to be participating in the #collaborativeartjourney thanks to @everlove. This challenge has us taking a wonderful piece and remaking it in our own way and style. This is my completed piece. (This is the thumbnail, I have the image larger further in post)

jan27challengecloseup.jpg

Here you can see the original piece, "Angles of Light no. 31" right here:

jan27angleoflight.jpg

When I looked at this I had a good think. I love to use figures or animals in my work. I am always, when seeing pattern or even abstraction, imagining it involved with either of those two things (animals or people). I then saw it looking a bit like a hood or maybe a structure someone would be coming out of, so I turned it this way.

jan27anglesturned.jpg

So, I put some tissue over it to get the basic layout this way and then sketched my figure in. And then I scanned that drawing into my computer.

jan27sketch1.jpg

It is called ANGLES of light but I first read it as ANGELS of light. So I was thinking of a spiritual or godlike woman. And thinking of Light, I considered a sort of goddess that was both light and dark and felt an image holding a snake biting her was sort of a being caught between life and death.

I decided to work in oils and oil pastels. I wanted to do an animated gif of the process and tried a few tutorials, but am still unable to get it. So, here are three images showing it in process.

jan27sketch3.jpgjan27sketch4.jpgjan27sketch5.jpg

IF I had more time I would have probably made the background image a bit tighter and more defined, but as it is a lot of work I just focused on more detail on the face and hands. I still like the overall affect and think the more painterly background is still close to the original to see the inspiration.

jan27challengecloseup.jpg

And here is the entire piece at a larger size.

jan27challengelarge.jpg

I really enjoy the challenges that have us riff of another piece of art work. I enjoy building on that as it is very Steemit in that way, I think.

If others would like to enter (Though tomorrow is the deadline!) You can do so by going here.

And as always if you like my work please comment, upvote, and resteem if you like.


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Wowwowowowowowwowowow! Your art is really amazing @donnadavisart! I love your drawing and how you have turned it into such a beautiful and flowing, incredibly attractive piece. The colors are spectacular as well as the composition. You've nailed this one! I am so very glad you have joined this collaboration. Stunning work!

Thank you so much. It really felt like a wonderful collaboration. I even wrote a post about how much I love contests as it really encourages me to create and build up my own fine art portfolio! Steemit is just great for that.

I agree @donnadavisart! The challenges here are so prolific and well supported on Steemit. I'm glad you are taking the opportunities to engage them!

I love the expression on her face! And the bright red-orange contrasting with the colder colors...

Thank you so much. I love orange with blues and greens.

This is beautiful :) The vibrancy, texture, and line work are all very nice! Thank you for sharing you journey through the piece.

Thanks so much it really was a fun piece to do. I love doing challenges and contests.

That is really beautiful. Nice works, love the combination of line and coloring. I have a ?? that might seem goofier than usual, but is this painted on the computer, or on paper? As I read it, it's done electronically. But all I've done is make simple, manual pencil/ink/color pencil'd line drawings for posts, so am pretty clueless about these sorts of more complex things. Thanks, and hope you have a nice night.

Well, I always start with pencil sometimes pen/charcoal on paper in the real world first. In this case I thought, ill just pull up the image we are supposed to use as a starting off point and play with it. So when I saw it I turned it vertical in photoshop then flipped it horizontally (as I liked the opening facing the right more, as that often indicates the future or looking forward or more uplifiting in painting) and then I put a piece of paper over the screen and roughly sketched out the shape, then I sat at my desk and did a few versions of a lady coming out of the shape. When I was happy with that I sketched it and scanned it,that is the pencil drawing you see turned digital.
Then I use digital oils, various brushes and also digital oil pastels. It's fun and amazing and the first time I used digital I couldn't' believe how much it reacts like real world. Sometimes I forget it's not a screen but a real paper/canvas and rub my finger on it to smudge something and then think, "Hey idiot, it's not really there" They do make touch screen drawing tablets but I don't want one yet, as I think I would smear things with my hands all the time.
Is this helpful or is it clear as mud?

Wow, what a journey you gave here! Amazing what you done with original and where you take it @donnadavisart!

If I could just learn to animate gifs, I would show more layers to. And if I could figure out how to record my screen I might do that sometimes, not sure.

I always see people and animals in everything and am always making up little stories. So when someone gives me a challenge with an abstract shape that is the first place my mind goes, finding the shapes , space and dimensions and then peopleing it with animals or people or both.

I think even if someone gave us a Jackson Pollack painting as a starting point, I'd still make it full of figures, just who I am I guess. I really liked working on this one. Sometimes it's nice to think "Well that'll be the background sorted, I get to just focus on the figure, that's my favourite bit!"

i love what you create , <3

Thank you so much and I love your art as well!

My friend is the imputer we are. fantastic drawing ! I was glad to see the steps. a great artist. congratulations. love it

Thank you, I'm glad you like it. I wanted to do an animated gif but after a couple hours trying to make it, I gave up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53