DAY 1 Cold Shower Challenge | Anti-Depressant and Adrenaline Rush

in #cold6 years ago

Hello all,

So I just completed my first cold shower and it was mind boggling how much I procrastinated. I really wanted to pay attention to my thought process when I was preparing to get in the freezing cold shower. What I noticed was that it was taking me much longer than usual to get in the shower. This showed me that I was acting out the same behaviors that I would do when I procrastinated in college. I was finding things less important to do rather than facing the fact that these next few minutes were going to be uncomfortable. The next thing I noticed I was doing was questioning my own intelligence that directed me to do this because it would get me used to being uncomfortable. I noticed the next thing I did was stick my hand in the water for a few minutes just thinking of how cold this water will be on my bare room temperature skin. The next thing I did was say F it I'm going in, and sure enough I regretted it the instant that water hit my head!

cold-shower.png

As my heart rate starts sky rocketing I feel like my body is in shock. I start to notice I've never taken deeper breaths in my life compared to the breaths I was taking in that cold shower. I started telling myself wait this could be a good thing just to trick my mind. As the shower went on I broke it up into 2 steps clean you body first, and then washing your hair would be a breeze right? Negative ghost rider... My head instantly felt like its was shrinking under the cold water and I felt my spine tighten up like in a healthy structural way. This really started to get my adrenaline pumping and I noticed I was in this fight or flight state that felt so natural. Then I told myself you could do this everyday and it will improve your life.

My conclusion is that I am going to do this every day for the next 30 days and see if I start becoming more fearless. I also hope this helps me become less depressed and more productive. If you enjoyed this post please try it for yourself too, and if you have already I would love to hear about your experiences!

Sort:  

I find disciplining yourself to do 'not pleasant' - or boring repetitive things - is fantastic for your mental health, mate.(long term)

Yes exactly, because that's what we need to do in order to fulfill our needs as humans. We need a repetitive purpose in life and also the nerve to reach outside our comfort zone to keep us moving forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71