Experimenting with PALnet - A Day Later

in #coins5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Experimenting with PALnet - A Day Later


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Nice breakdown of your first impression, as you said is still too early to get a proper conclusion... I would invest on palnet (because of the awesome community and developers behind the project) if I knew what is going to happend with steem-engine tokens after SMT are fully released. In the mean time, I will blog and comment posts using the palnet tag.

Best regards.

When is SMT supposed to be fully released? And how do you think it'll affect the steemsphere?

hi @stortebeker

Do you actually still believe that SMT would become reality? I'm not so sure any more. I feel that it's one of those promises that will not be delivered. Partly because SMTs will be 99% considered securities by SEC and that could potentially cause some serious challenges for Steemit Inc.

Yours
Piotr

Honestly, I have no idea. Ever since I first heard about bitcoin and cryptos I have been collecting information, opinions, analyses, always trying to keep an objective approach. However, up until now I've felt that I still lack the amount of understanding needed to form my own opinion. I would not be surprised either way.

I would not go as far as to state a date, but following they last rhythm of releases I can bet that on the last two months of this year we can expect to have them at least partially implemented. At that time, @aggroed team will have developed further steem-engine and scott bot/nitrous instances... they are just to addict to hard work 😝 hence a interests conflict most likely will arise between the Steemit Inc and aggroed's team, most likely aggroed's products will be popular and more awesome that the first SMT release... I am afraid that Steemit Inc will not manage the situation properly and a fork might occur.

Dunno if I'm just too pessimist, but the last couple of years we have witnessed some awesome sub-communities such as Whaleshares, Weku, Bearshares, Scorum, Sprtshub, etc fork the blockchain code and launch their own platform because Steemit Inc not being able to negotiate and include those developers in their plans for the platform (despite it being open source, and the witnesses being not under direct control of Steemit Inc, they can just vote their own set of witnesses with their huge stake).

I also want to know what do you think about this regard 🙂
Cheers.

Good to know! Amen on the sub-communities. It seems like the entire steem community is outgrowing SteemIt if it hasn't happened already. It's supposed to be decentralized, sure, but of course it also had to grow out of somewhere. But now, with so many amazing developments, there may not even be a need for the original Steemit any longer. Except, hahaha, all the vested whales... But I'd say, bring on the fork. It's kinda like how you feel better after vomiting when you're sick. Maybe it just needs to happen.
Anyhow, if it takes that long before the full SMT release, there should be enough time to consider everything from all sides. This is also why I asked for, and appreciate your opinion. Something to keep in perspective, and compare to what others say.

It's kinda like how you feel better after vomiting when you're sick.
You made my that with this phrase 🤣 Hopping for the best and getting ready for the worst my friend.
Best regards.

Hi @joelsegovia

Do you actually still believe that SMT would become reality? I'm not so sure any more. I feel that it's one of those promises that will not be delivered. Partly because SMTs will be 99% considered securities by SEC and that could potentially cause some serious challenges for Steemit Inc.

Yours
Piotr

Following Steemit Inc's record it will not be strange that they just make an excuse and abandon the development of SMTs, also they could just integrate aggroed's code (or a slight variation of it). What is certain is that one way (aggroed's) or another (Steemit Inc's, or a combination of both) we already have SMT-like tokens on the Steem blockchain. Steemit Inc has not announced it since they missed their own dead line and the achievement was made by an outsider, hence exemplifying that their company is no longer indispensable to develop this platform.

Best regards.

Thanks for the review. I'm experimenting with it too. One strange thing I see, besides the drop in value after a vote, is that there seems to be a delay between making the vote and it showing up on the page.

And how do you like PALnet so far @kus-knee?

I've noticed that you powered up PAL a bit :)

I’m experimenting and learning!

I’m experimenting and learning!

Oh yeah, I noticed that too... However, not every time. Sometimes it goes very quickly. That's why I thought not much about it. Just like the pay-out amount going up and down without a good reason (not due to the price volatility, I checked that on Steem Engine, it didn't change that much!) I blame this on the fact that it's all so new, and probably still full of bugs, I could never get my head around.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Yeay, thank you again, @miti! :-)

Don't mention it! ;-)

Hi again @stortebeker

Another solid read.

As for the PAL coin, it also introduced me to trading on Steem Engine, which is refreshingly simple

We're sharing similar experience :) I also tried Steem-engine for the very first time to purchase some PAL. And I found it to be almost idiot-resistant.

Spending anything on post promotion, be it in PAL, in Steem, or SBD, I still don't think there's a point in it. Though I guess I should wait till the final pay-out before making a judgement on it.

In order for this to have any sense at all, we would need to educate people to visit "promoted" tab in the first place. Which noone ever does. And it's a shame since that could be an awesome way of getting some exposure and keeping price of STEEM up (burned tokens).

Yours
Piotr

Actually, after a few days, it seems like the 5 PAL was a good investment. The first and the third post in my PALnet blog were promoted (with 5 PAL each), the second one wasn't. And the seven days are not past yet. Also, the way it was explained, the PAL I spend on promotion gets burned, which is good for the scarcity of the coin. So yeah, I think I'll keep using it.

Dear @stortebeker

How airdrops tokens could be claimed? I couldn't find any info about PALnet airdrop yet.

Yours
Piotr

Well, in your Steem Engine Wallet there should be a blue PAL logo hanging out in the top left corner. You need to click on that, and if your Keychain has your Posting Key, it'll claim the airdrop, and you'll find the PAL among your Steem Engine Tokens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53