Why Cryptocurrency is Important to Me

in #coingeckowritingcontest6 years ago (edited)

25086939_10155997910613270_406240704_o.jpg

(burgers you can buy at my outlet Big Hug Burgers with STEEM)

I've been in the crypto space for over a year now which has given the extreme ends of the spectrum in terms of the up and downs of price on how "volatile" it can be. It has been a rollercoaster journey thus far. Scary but exciting and I'm not getting down this ride anytime soon.

Diving into Crypto head first

When I first heard of cryptocurrency and the potential of blockchain tech I immediately got hooked into wanting to learn, study and get right into it. Not knowing much I made a purchase of some satoshis of Bitcoin with whatever extra fiat I had in my bank account.

I learned about ICOs and got into one which from a trusted friend said, "If you had only 10 eggs and wanted to put them only in basket, this would be the one". I did and I saw the price rocketed till the end of Christmas but because I was so new at crypto and had no prior experience to bear market in cryptocurrency, I didn't sell a single coin I had from that ICO.

Well we all know what the USD value of the cryptos are now worth and although I didn't make any profit from this particular "investment", I've seen what can actually happen.

In any form of investment, namely Forex and shares, you need a big some of money to make an even lesser percentage of what you put in, but in crypto, you can put in a little and get returns of massive percentages.

So why is cryptocurrency important to me?

Well I've spent most of my 20s loving people being a pastor so I've always put love and kindness before money, which includes earning it. Because you have a job that generally relies on people remembering what you done for them, which by the way has no safe proof because our number one disability as a human race is, we forget, your financial standing isn't always a secured one. I've no complaints and no regrets and I'm absolutely grateful to have come across and somehow had the willingness to explore it more.

With cryptocurrency and investing into it with the mindset that it's more valuable than fiat, I've managed to stay afloat financially and for my family. People might think that the bear market is a bad thing, but when you don't have fiat and satisfying meal costs you more than 10 bucks nowadays, even crypto in the bear market is more promising, not to mention the progress of blockchain tech.

Story no.1

I once bought a cryptocurrency that went bust and the CEO of the project ran away but still managed to recover 80% of what I had put in because the exchange that I bought it from issued out an apology for listing the project and had a buyback for the dead coins. I mean, you'll never see this in a fiat scam (lol). If you got scammed in fiat, you got scammed 100% not 90% and get a return of your money 10% let alone 80%.

This shows me that the human beings in the communities, projects and companies that have to do with blockchain and cryptocurrency are somewhat a little different species of human beings. A little more kind, a little more fair perhaps. I guess my deduction is, a fairer transparent system are only produced by fairer human beings.

Story no.2

Another story that I think has been a highlight was the one I did with my STEEM. I stumbled upon STEEM late last year in mid-November. Long story short I met a lot of cool people in #teammalaysia and who have become some of my close friends.

But asides from that, I once made a trade that hit all the right timings. I traded 77 SBD (STEEM Dollars) to another crypto and from the crypto to a 3rd crypto and then converted it into a sum in fiat. That fiat has lasted me this past 10 months of 2018 financially and this is one of the reasons why cryptocurrency is important to me. Mind you I was a young trader and have no prior experience in economy or trading but I manage to pull of a massive % winning trade.

I posted it on STEEMit as well which you can check it out here if you're interested:

https://steemit.com/tkc/@danielwong/how-i-made-77-sbd-usd720-usd-into-usd2250-in-3-days-rm3000-to-rm-10-000

My Favorite Crypto

So before I end my post, here's one of my favorite coins there is out there.

I have many coins I like but if I had to choose my favorite, this would be it. Simple because asides from BTC and ETH, this was the first crypto I bought.

It's at a really "discounted" price right now. So do your due diligence and get your hands on some after you've done that :D

43494446_241009643232648_6858593726923538432_n.png

image screenshot from CoinGecko

this post is an entry to a contest held by @coingecko which you can check out HERE. You can find out more on the details and how you can participate in the post.

-signature.png


This post is a submission to CoinGecko's ”Why Cryptocurrency Is Important To Me” Writing Contest

Sort:  

Cool story! I need to learn about icon!

Thanks man. Yeah it's a real good one.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by danielwong from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @danielwong!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.614 which ranks you at #5509 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 116 places in the last three days (old rank 5625).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 312 contributions, your post is ranked at #146.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83