All My Coins Are Gone

in #coin7 years ago (edited)

Firstly I'd like to say Im OK. But I do feel for everyone else who lost out when www.cryptsy.com crashed. I did have non bitcoins there. Actually I don't even remember what, or how many there were. But we can safely but an "s" on the end of a 1000.

Its not the first time my coins got hacked away. I'm in New Zealand and traded coins on bitnz.com. Well in truth I didn't get hack. The bitnz.com email account got hacked. And guess who didn't erase the sent emails along with mine and other passwords. To his credit the manager of bitnz.com made good on my stolen coins. Sadly it wasn't a hacker that shut bitnz.com down. But the banks. No bank would allow him to receive deposits. It was sad too see bitnz.com close shop.

Screenshot_2017-10-12_02-37-19.png

I was just doing some housekeeping and though I'd have another go at getting my login details off the Cryptsy Team. I tried some years ago but seem to run into a very indifferent Bot. Who knows what treasures were lost, if any. As far as bitcoins go I've made more than I've lost. But I could have made it big. But I decided to use Bitcoins as a tool. I used it for what it was designed for. I paid people around the world to do little but important tasks for me, like see if my forum worked where they were. It worked and I paid a mystery person .2 bitcoins for about 2 minutes of their time.

Then there was the time my computer crashed as I was about to buy 5 bitcoins for $10 each. When I finally got back online the person I was arranging to buy them off had to leave to see a movie or something. The next time we caught up he told me PayPal was about to ban for his trading him so I couldn't pay him and the deal fell through. But I'm not the only bitcoin tragedy. There's that guy who bough a pizza for 10,000 bitcoins. The computer that went missing along with its booty of bitcoins. Ross Ulbricht the alleged creator of THE SILK ROAD had his still going computer taken from his very hands in a library full of Bitcoins (actually access codes to Bitcoins). He lost more than his coins, he lost his freedom. So me and my losses are OK.

I wonder if Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte got in back when Bitcoins cost $10. I know that Steve mined a few. My first coin cost $10. I bought it after listening to Security Now hosted by Steve and Leo. I used to listen to Buzz Out loud too. Poor Molly Wood though see missed out on the big money when Bitcoins were only $30 each. I think most of use did miss out. I still can't buy a Tesla. But I have been in one. The owner was computer engineer who did'nt have any coins but he had skills and a Tesla.

Still I look forward to the future and especially there is one thing I'm looking forward to. I look forward to walking past a bar that has a Bitcoin Logo on the front door. Im going to pop in and have a drink on Bitcoin. Its going to be free. And on the way out if there is a bottle store I'm going to buy a bottle of Plantation 20th Anniversary rum. Its going to be free too, care of Bitcoins. But If I'm going to get a Tesla I'm going to have to use my skills.

Sort:  

Congratulations @peterskinner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @peterskinner! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74