OLD SCHOOL BABY!

in #coffee4 years ago

image.png


It's NOT just the taste of a cup of coffee itself, it's the process of making one

In the process of not going crazy while we can't all be outside walking around and sh*t like we normally do. I suggested we do a lot of things from scratch just to expand the creativity. I do, I really do. One thing I found it's quite a fun thing to do as an everyday routine is to make a cup of coffee from scratch. Well, not that I roast it myself and all though I started from the whole roasted beans.


Light, I like it light roasted but I like it strong.

Light roast coffee is a light brown color and has no oil on the surface of the beans. These coffees typically have a crisp acidity, a mellow body, and bright flavors.

A lot of people like it so dark, so bitter. I'm not sure if I'm just one of a few who loves it light roasted that it tastes so acidic and fruity somewhat.

Not that I don't like it strong.. I like strong light roast coffee if that actually makes any sense at all.


Fun facts of light vs dark roasted coffee beans

☕ Lighter roast coffee is higher in caffeine?

It depends...The density of the beans - If you measure your coffee by scoops, light roast coffee will have more caffeine as the beans are denser. However if you weigh out your scoops, darker roasts will have more caffeine as there's less mass.

☕ Is light roast coffee healthier?

The lighter roast seem to offer higher antioxidant properties and is better for protecting against inflammation and cell damage compared to its dark roast.

image.png


Peruvian Coffee ground in Valparaiso, Chile.

I liked it, I liked it a lot

While traveling in Peru, we came across a lot of coffee shops and roasteries. One day, in Ollantaytambo, the transitory city to the famous Machu Picchu, we randomly found this lovely farm. There are some flower gardens, animal ranches (a lot of alpacas!), liquor distillery and a coffee roaster on site.

We were excited like, really excited. All the nature combined with all the crafts. We were invited to try some freshly distilled liquor and freshly roasted delicious coffee. I liked it, I liked it a lot so we grabbed a few bags. Mixture of dark and light roasts. I got dark roasts for myself of course.

I always keep a bag in my luggage and finding a right time where I can consume it. Now! It's right now, right here in a hostel during the covid-19 and self-quarantine. All the coffee shops are closed and we can't go out nowhere so there's no better time than now!

image.png


I have never seen this type of old-school coffee grinder

Brand: Mimoso
Model: No.3 (Not quite sure #lol)

I mean, it's such a cool looking one and I feel like a badass been using this every day for the past few days...

Scoop the roasted coffee beans how much ever we like, dump it into the hole from above and start grinding! The freshly ground coffee coffee comes out from the front really messily. It spills here and there even though I tend to use the bigger container.

Also, I wouldn't say this is the best coffee grinder really. Not sure how it's supposed to do its job but the coffee is ground really roughly from what I can see. It's doable, of course.

Have you ever seen this kind of griner

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Italian moka pot

No fancy machine, no electricity, no paper filter needed. It's coffee, water and the steam pressure

The moka pot is a stove-top coffee maker that brews coffee by passing boiling water pressurized by steam through ground coffee invented by an Italian engineer named Alfonso Bialetti in 1933 and quickly became one of the staples of Italian culture.

How to use Italian moka pot

  • Fill water into the brewer bottom not higher than the dot on the side
  • Pour ground coffee into the filter basket
  • Assemble them to the way moka pot's supposed to look like (very helpful instruction, I know #lol)
  • Put on the stove with low heat and you will hear a puffing sound when coffee starts to come out. Wait till it finishes. Pour into your favorite coffee mug and enjoy!

I think it's one of a really easy way to make coffee for a small amount and consume cozily at home. It takes such a short period of time to prepare (5-10 mins). Freshly brew for every cup of coffee you drink. How lovely!

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


A cup of light roast Peruvian coffee, hand ground and freshly brew in an Italian moka pot. Here I am enjoying it on the rooftop of a hostel in Valparaiso feeling the warm sun and cooling breeze. Writing post about coffee while drinking coffee...

image.png


Good vibes only. Have a nice day!




♡ Get $55 TRAVEL CREDIT
EARN CRYPTO while browsing

🎥 Check out all MY GEAR


All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com

image.png

TO SUPPORT WITH LOVE ♡ PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!! TO MY SUPER DUPER FOOD CHANNEL

Sort:  

I'm sorry I'm not as fancy as you are! :D
Still drinking instant coffee over here! hahaha
Need to upgrade though. :D

Haaa it's not that fancy really lol

Well comparing to my Nescafe Classic, what you got is pretty fancy to me gurl! :D

Great post! I like very dark coffee hehehe

Hi there

I've been reading through many comments related to new hive chain and I've seen your comment too. Many users are being torn, however majority seem to be moving to new hive.

Are you fully moving there or will you stay on both chains? Just curious. I'm trying to figure out what to do myself.

I'm here and there but most of the time, I will be hanging out there and will be migrating fully when all the power down is finished.

There's no point wasting the voting power :)

Big Thx for your reply. I think i will stick around on both chains for time being.

I also figured that you may find this post interesting and worth your time:
https://steemit.com/hive-175254/@project.hope/project-hope-curation-trail-on-both-chains-steem-and-new-hive

It's post published by good friend of mine and I'm helping him to promote their curation trail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65