Coffee's of the world - Nicaraguan Maragogype (the Elephant Bean)

in #coffee6 years ago (edited)

This week we have another different coffee to try, in fact I roasted a batch today it is very popular the whole roast was pre-ordered. The coffee in question is from Nicaragua, and is a special variety known as Maragogype - also known as the Elephant Bean - because it is much bigger in size then your average coffee bean - how big? let's look at in comparison to others.

IMG_1661.JPG

In the picture we have the Maragoype top right, to it's left Yemen Mocha Matari which is quite small, bottom left is Indian Mysore and Bottom Right Monsoon Malabar - which is quite big itself from the way it is stored to absorb moisture and develop flavours. Bigger is not always better, but these beans do have a unique flavour of their own.

I roasted these today, so let's enjoy a few gif's of the process - first up loading the green coffee beans into the coffee roaster drum.

Next, you spin me right round - the drum turns to evenly roast the coffee on all sides

Where they stop - nobody knows -the beans change colour as they roast right now half way through the roast they are a light cinnamon.

Now we reach first crack - at this point the moisture in the inner core of the coffee bean is realised and each bean pops - it's a bit like popcorn popping - I kept the audio in the video linked below so you can hear the sound. When you roast coffee for longer it reaches a second crack and get's dark black and oily. For these beans they are better lighter roast so we will stop roasting and release them to cool not long after first crack.

Lovely roasted coffee, the cooling tray sucks cold air over the beans to cool them quicker - a fan in the machine does this work. The mixer arms keep the coffee moving while they cool - leave them still and they will start to cook from the residual heat. This roast was ended at 192 degrees Celsius - and the beans are that hot when released - it only takes a few minutes to cool them to a temperature you can touch by hand - the fan that sucks air over them is very efficient.

So for comparison let's look at the green beans - which are very big.

IMG_1666.JPG

And then roasted - they actually do not loose much in size. When you roast coffee you normally loose around 10% of the coffee weight - because green coffee has moisture in it which the roasting process releases.

IMG_1689.JPG

So let's throw a good portion into the Aeropress ready to grind and brew.

IMG_1694.JPG

The ground Coffee looks good, now we can add the hot but not boiling water.

IMG_1696.JPG

Looking rich as the coffee infuses with the water, the fresh roast nitrogen bubbling off. After roasting it is advisable to leave coffee to rest for 2 to 5 days to de-gas. It helps develop flavours and stops it being too lively.

IMG_1698.JPG

Now we can add the filter cap and pop it onto a cup - with the Aeropress you can leave the coffee to develop more flavours - or plunge quickly so it extracts like an espresso.

IMG_1702.JPG

Another rich cup ready to enjoy. Let's learn a little more about this amazing coffee.

maragogype.png
Tasting notes Round body, walnut, citrus and dark chocolate

And the taste, just as expected - another great cup.

IMG_1703.JPG

For reference the full video of roasting clips

And now for my good friend @huslein.slash the text from above translated into Indonesian

Minggu ini kita memiliki kopi lain yang berbeda untuk dicoba, sebenarnya saya memanggang satu batch hari ini sangat populer seluruh panggang sudah dipesan sebelumnya. Kopi yang dimaksud berasal dari Nikaragua, dan merupakan varietas spesial yang dikenal sebagai Maragogype - juga dikenal sebagai Elephant Bean - karena ukurannya jauh lebih besar dari rata-rata biji kopi rata-rata - seberapa besar? mari kita lihat di bandingkan dengan yang lain.

Dalam gambar tersebut, kita memiliki hak atas Maragoype, ke sana [Yaman Mocha Matari] (https://steemit.com/coffee/@c0ff33a/coffee-s-of-the-world-yemen-mocha-matari) yang mana cukup kecil, kiri bawah India Mysore dan kanan bawah [Monsoon Malabar] (https://steemit.com/coffee/@c0ff33a/coffee-from-around-the-world-indian-monsoon-malabar) - yang cukup besar itu sendiri dari cara itu disimpan untuk menyerap kelembaban dan mengembangkan rasa. Lebih besar tidak selalu lebih baik, tapi kacang ini memang memiliki cita rasa tersendiri.

Saya memanggangnya hari ini, jadi mari nikmati beberapa gif dari prosesnya - mulailah memasukkan biji kopi hijau ke dalam drum roaster kopi.

Selanjutnya, Anda berputar saya benar bulat - drum berubah untuk merata kopi kopi di semua sisi

Di mana mereka berhenti - tidak ada yang tahu - kacang berubah warna saat mereka memanggang sekarang setengah jalan melalui panggang mereka adalah kayu manis ringan.

Sekarang kita mencapai celah pertama - pada titik ini kelembaban di inti batuan kopi direalisasikan dan setiap kacang muncul - ini agak seperti popcorn yang muncul - saya menyimpan audio di video yang terhubung di bawah ini sehingga Anda bisa mendengar suaranya. Saat Anda memanggang kopi lebih lama lagi, ia meraih retakan kedua dan menjadi hitam gelap dan berminyak. Untuk kacang-kacangan ini mereka lebih enak dipanggang jadi kita akan berhenti memanggang dan melepaskannya hingga mendingin tak lama setelah retak pertama.

Kopi panggang yang indah, nampan pendingin mengisap udara dingin di atas kacang untuk mendinginkannya lebih cepat - kipas di mesin melakukan pekerjaan ini. Senjata mixer menjaga agar kopi tetap bergerak saat mereka dingin - membiarkannya tetap diam dan mereka akan mulai memasak dari panas sisa. Panggang ini diakhiri pada suhu 192 derajat celcius - dan kacangnya panas saat dilepaskan - hanya perlu beberapa menit untuk mendinginkannya sampai suhu yang bisa Anda sentuh dengan tangan - kipas angin yang menyedot udara di atas mereka sangat efisien.

Jadi untuk perbandingan mari kita lihat kacang hijau - yang sangat besar.

Dan kemudian dipanggang - mereka sebenarnya tidak longgar banyak ukurannya. Ketika Anda memanggang kopi Anda biasanya kehilangan sekitar 10% dari berat kopi - karena kopi hijau memiliki kelembaban di dalamnya yang proses pelepasannya dipanggang.

Jadi mari kita membuang sebagian ke Aeropress yang siap digiling dan diseduh.

Kopi tanah terlihat bagus, sekarang kita bisa menambahkan air panas tapi tidak mendidih.

Tampak kaya seperti kopi yang diinfus dengan air, nitrogen panggang segar menggelegak. Setelah dipanggang disarankan untuk meninggalkan kopi untuk beristirahat selama 2 sampai 5 hari untuk de-gas. Ini membantu mengembangkan rasa dan menghentikannya menjadi terlalu hidup.

Sekarang kita bisa menambahkan tutup filter dan memasukkannya ke cangkir - dengan Aeropress Anda dapat membiarkan kopi untuk mengembangkan lebih banyak rasa - atau cepat-cepat terjun sehingga menghasilkan ekstrak seperti espresso.

Secangkir kaya lainnya siap untuk dinikmati. Mari belajar sedikit lebih banyak tentang kopi yang menakjubkan ini

Dan rasanya, seperti yang diharapkan - secangkir besar lainnya.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

For the simplest way to upvote and promote your work, log into SmartSteem it’s the smartest way to get your work noticed.
Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team discord

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

For Steemit to grow we need to post rich content - interesting and unique posts that encourage others to join in and share their experiences. If you feel your own posts are not doing well look at what your favourite content creators are doing - if you like their work they are doing something you could do as well - think of way to do similar things with your own unique twist.

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

As Steemit grows making your content stand out gives it a greater chance to be seen and enjoyed, I try to work on making one post a day - but making it as big and content rich as I can. I don't know if this is the right way, but I enjoy the most big content rich posts - and a wise man on Steemit once said to me - make your content like the content you enjoy.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

Coffee is an addictive drug that should be banned!

That's all folks, feel free to hate 👇

That's too funny, thank you very much it did make me grin 😋 It could be true as well, there seems to be a group on here for everything - so why not #banc0ff33a

I think the concern some folks feel is that the act of roasting makes it more dangerous as far as stomach cancers...much like grilled or blackened meat...But I take a cup a day then use tea for the rest.

Wow that stuff is really spinning in there fast.

The drum has to spin at a certain speed to ensure the coffee is roasted evenly on all sides.

Wow It so kind of you friend @c0ff33a make me special, I can't believe it you translated your post for me. During this time I have never known yet how the roasting machine is working. Thank you very much, it was fun to use the machine, I've only seen traditional coffee roasting. I suggest you to try coffee from Aceh that's gayo coffee..

Thank you very much @huslein.slash I do appreciate that my posts can be difficult to translate with so many picture and gifs in it. I'm going to try different ways to work round it so anyone can translate if they wish - it might take a while but I will figure it out. I'm pleased you enjoyed my little experience into coffee roasting - and I will try to look up the coffee you mention.

Yeah and now I understand the coffee roasting working. Surely it's interesting to enjoy coffee.

Ooohhh omg..

I can imagine how delicious and fragrant the coffee.

Thank you very much, it tastes even better then that.

This is my first time that I see how coffee roasted , I observe that you taste coffee a lot lol! Enjoy

Thank you very much for your support

This is just one way of many that you can roast coffee, and yes I do drink alot of coffee!

Yes, please. You know I would never turn down a great cup of coffee, On most of the South American beans, I like to let it take a lie down in the aeropress for a few. The flavors are melded and robust. I have to try just pressing it through like espresso to compare.

Another great post, rich, just like your coffee. Tip!

Thank you Denise, I too like to let the grounds infuse with the water for a while before taking the plunge - but it can vary for different origins - some prefer more time infusing and some a little less. Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment.

Here I am in my other persona. LOL! I can only begin to imagine how good coffee tastes with freshly roasted beans. As it is, I have a coffee maker that grinds the beans before making the coffee. I also have a coffee press which I enjoy now and again too.Ahhhh! Coffee! I can smell it.

Everyone smells the coffee when I am roasting it - like it or not! I am quite lucky that I can roast coffee to sell, and also roast coffee to demonstrate the machine to potential buyers of the Turkish manufactured equipment. In a way I find it very much like Steemit, you develop a skill and then share it with people wanting to learn - and then they get much better then you and go off an become successful!

It's great to be able to do what you love and make a living at it too!

Mmmm... looks so very yummy. I once got hold of an heirloom Sumatran that I wish I had measured. I swear it got bigger, popped a LOT like popcorn.

Monsoon Malabar is quite a big bean, and it does grow from being warehoused for a long time it soaks up moisture and flavours. It fascinating how coffee does pop towards the end of the roast, as the bean core splits letting out inner moisture.

I suspect that moisture is the worst part of my redneck roasting method, I am not sure enough really escapes fast enough but if I open the lid any further it does not hold its heat well. Still MUCH better than anything I can buy.

I wasn't aware of Nicaraguan coffee, so this post has increased my general knowledge. :-)

Great gif-explanation right through the post - no questions arisen in my mind!

But I have a different question - someone (fitness coach guy) told me about organic coffee and how it is much better for its nutrient value. I know about green tea and its benefits, mainly because I am a tea drinker(but do enjoy my cafe au lait sometimes!), but wasn't to up-to-date with news related to organic coffee. What is your opinion on it?

Thank you very much for taking a look at my post, so many different places throughout the world grow amazing coffee - each one with it's own unique flavour.

Like any product Marked Organic, Organic Coffee is grown under strict natural conditions - no artificial fertilisers or pesticides are used. So organic products are all natural and better for us, but of course the cost is greater because it is more difficult to cultivate the crops and they are more prone to disease and insect damage.

That is quit a concise piece of information about organic coffee. I don't think anyone could have explained it better. Thank you!

Thanks my friend @c0ff33a for this wonderful publication

Thank you very much @klasanah for my coffee shaped heart - very thoughtful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51