Coffee from around the World - Cuban Serrano Levado Arabica Coffee

in #coffee7 years ago

IMG_0990.JPG

While coffee might not be the first item you would associate with Cuba, they do grow a good volume of quality Arabica coffee. It's a wonderful coffee, but tricky to sell online surprisingly. PayPal won't let you take payment for goods from Cuba because of the Trade Embargo - and they get very salty and lock down your account if they find anyone buying Cuban products - I know this from painful experience.

IMG_0992.JPG

These are the green coffee beans from the sack, they will need roasting before we can make a drink with them. You can see the beans are of all of a similar size indicating they were well sorted, and relatively free of defects.

IMG_0995.JPG

Roasted they take on a different look entirely, these are roasted medium - cooled just after finishing the first crack of the beans during roasting. This brings out more of the subtle flavours of the coffee - it is a very light and mellow coffee, and it can taste slightly floral with a sweet finish.

IMG_0996.JPG

To brew it I grind some of the beans into the Aeropress, which I tend to use Inverted to allow the coffee to infuse for longer.

IMG_0997.JPG

The ground coffee sits at the bottom of the brew chamber.

IMG_0999.JPG

Then we add hot - but not boiling water to brew the coffee.

IMG_0998.jpg

The light coloured head that floats on the top of the ground coffee is an infusion of the internal coffee oils released by the hot water.

Now we can add the filter cap to the Aeropress and sit it over our cup.

IMG_1001.JPG

To brew the coffee you literally push the plunger down which forces the hot water through the coffee. The filter paper in the Aeropress cap stops the ground coffee going into the cup, so we just get a freshly brewed cup of filter coffee.

IMG_1002.JPG

And there we have it, our freshly brewed cup of Cuban coffee - all ready for drinking.

IMG_1003.JPG

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team https://steemit.com/steemit/@guidesteemit/guidesteemit-voting-bot-for-1-month-join-our-channel-you-will-get-more-information

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

I've never seen an Aeropress, thanks for sharing that! Had I just seen that on a counter I would have never guessed what its used for so its nice to be enlightened.

I sell hundreds of these per month, mostly e-bay and amazon. It's quicker and cleaner then a cafetière because you can quickly eject the ground coffee puck into a bin, brews lovely fresh filter coffee and is very compact so easy to travel with as well.

Great post my dear friend @c0ff33a! Coffee is my favorite drink... hot, cold or warm I don’t care. Coffee in the morning, while having lunch, during the day or even while dinner. Yeah I am a coffeeholic.

Freshly brewed coffee like this can be amazing, so many different flavours and tastes in coffee from different areas around the world.

I like my coffee black like Italian expresso, but a little bit more water like 50 ml instead 25ml

A good choice, the extra water through will take the edge off the espresso. Thanks for taking the time to look at my post and comment.

Wish I really liked coffee, that looks really good and I hope you enjoy your cup! Cheers

Thanks for taking a look, it was really nice - even though I did this just before leaving work for the day!

looks like a great cup of coffee. I drink coffee every day and enjoy the taste of many different kinds. your photos are great ❤️

I love coffee 💕☕

Plenty to enjoy about it, and I have a warehouse full of the stuff! Thanks for dropping in and leaving a comment.

If you have a coffee shop in my area, I'm your loyal customer. ☕😌

Nice post my dear friend

Thanks for your continued support my friend :-)

Congratulations @c0ff33a! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=c0ff33a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=coffee-from-around-the-world-cuban-serrano-levado-arabica-coffee


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50