Skipped Again

in #coffee6 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/adetorrent-skipped-again-4fwo3ieb-1553170968685.jpg

On the move again today, and pit stopped at Costa for some fuel. And then this happened.

For those of you who haven’t met me, I’m about six feet and (almost) three inches tall. This means I am hard to miss, especially standing in a queue right? Apparently not.

I ordered this Americano and patiently waited for it to be made. I do realise that Americanos, though simple, take slightly longer to make than other drinks. I always allow a little more time for this.

As usual, however, I had to remind the barrister of my order after waiting for 10 minutes and seeing other people served ahead of me - people that arrived after me that is.

It got me thinking. Why does this happen to me so frequently? I think I may have arrived at the answer.

I observed other people - the way they make and await their orders. Most people seem to have this aura of urgency to them, even if they are not in any hurry. This got I observed was virtually leaning over the counter to watch his drink being made.

In contrast, I tend to make my order and then stand back to allow others through. I also feel it’s inconsiderate to stand over the barista’s head, especially if I can see they’re quite busy.

I think this countenance exudes a no pressure vibe that unfortunately makes people think attending to me is somehow less important or less urgent than, say, the guy standing next to me who’s panting and huffing and looking at his watch every minute.

It’s not just in the café that this happens by the way, it’s at the supermarket, train station, anywhere there’s a queue that I’m on.

Not sure if I need to actively make any changes for now. It’s annoying but not life threatening 😂. It’s also kind of a 1st World problem.

Anyhow, I’m on the train and using Partiko to make this post. I’m actively fighting iPhone’s autocorrect engine so this is getting painful. Besides, my coffee is getting cold. ✌🏾



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Mmm coffee, Maybe your coffee was slower because you gave your order to the 'barrister' and not the 'barista' tee hee. I'm just joking but when I read it I pictured you giving your order to a chap in a powdered wig and black robe looking perplexed. :)

hahahah. you're on to something there. I did see that error (autocorrect), but I couldn't be bothered to fix it :)

Or maybe they don't like your grumpy face and they have fun putting you on hold :)))

Posted using Partiko Android

:( . That's the other probability

omg, thanks for the chuckle!

I get what you're saying. It sounds like an energy thing.
We respond to each other via the energy we are projecting.
Although, in the situation you describe it does seem unfair! It is very courteous to allow the barista just get on with his/ her job without staring them out of it.

Lol I have the same problem, I silently watch how everyone climbs out of turn, I think we lack their impudence :)

costa 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Turn of the autocorrect engibe 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Happens to me all the time! I try not to rush things as I adequately plan my time for things but sometimes it gets frustrating. Also, not sure if it my bad luck but it seems I always get on the line that takes the longest to serve!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha. Murphy's law. :)

Completely nailed this one, @adetorrent!

@adetorrent, When coffee is refreshing and strong then waiting period is worthful for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49