On Heading Back to Rural China Every Spring Festival

in #cn5 years ago (edited)

Tomorrow I head back to Dongbei for my annual pilgrimage "Beyond the Wall."

Of course, I'm not talking about the fictitious ice wall in the Game of Thrones.

I'm talking about going north of the biggest, baddest manmade wall in all of history:

The Great Wall.

Here is a picture of the eastern end of the Great Wall, which is clearly what HBO was modeling the above picture on.

Were it not for the typically searing pollution this time of year, northeast China is kinda great. At least for a week or two. Sure, I'll miss the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. But shooting fireworks, drinking baijiu, and gorging on dumplings is not that bad, either.

Plus, it's like a week-plus of speaking straight Chinese 24/7, so you know my second language is gonna be baller when I get back to the grind. That’s always a plus.

Still, sometimes I just gotta sneak in some TV time or traipse off to the town's only (and newly built since 2016) McDonald's. I swear I have no idea how I got any work done up in Dongbei before they built that blessed Mickey D's!

It's the coffee.

My Chinese family thinks I'm insane. They say, “Here is some Nescafe. Just add hot water!” 😰

“这是很好喝!又甜又热。你不需要别的。我们也有冰咖啡。你可以在超市随便买啊。”

But true coffeeheads know what I’m talking about. If I go a few days without coffee, my head starts to throb and I start to get the jitters. Not only that, but I’m sure I’m not the nicest person to hang out with. And that’s what the Spring Festival is all about.

Hanging with the fam.

Every single waking hour of the whole week-plus.

So, yes, I may sneak off to McDonald's to get some precious uninterrupted hours in to finish some work (After all, most of the people I work for don't care that it is Chinese New Year!), but really I just need to find some peace and quiet where I can pound back a couple free refills of the liquid gold before walking back the kilometer-plus to the family abode in sub-zero temperatures.

It goes on like that for 6-7 days. Every day a new relative's house to visit. Every day some sort of delicious pig soup and plates and plates of jiaozi. And then I start to get anxious about making it back to the big city. You see there's no way to buy a train ticket for the day you want to leave. They are all sold out. You just have to sit there and wait (or rather my wife begs my sister-in-law to work some kind of Chinese internet magic) and wait and wait... and wait until somebody returns their train ticket online. And then and only then, my sister-in-law performs some kind of magic Millennial internet voodoo and... voila! All of a sudden I am headed back home the next day. The wife and kid trailing a couple days behind.

Then we'll work and work and lose ourselves in the everyday toil of life for a few months...

And then we'll do it all over again next year.

Happy Year of the Pig 🐷everybody! 大家恭喜发财! 🙏

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2019-02-03) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请给他投票,感谢!

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2019-02-03) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial

恭喜发财!@teamcn-shop

恭喜發財,新年快樂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@ericet给您叫了一份外卖!

@robertyan 阿盐 迎着海啸 开着宝马给您送来
软哥@softmetal独家代言 单身热狗

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (15.20%)
Summoned by @shanghaipreneur
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

You got a 13.51% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @shanghaipreneur! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Congratulations @shanghaipreneur! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from massive loss up to 20%

You just received 26.32% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @shanghaipreneur!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
15% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06