Day out at amusement park on 3rd day of Chinese New Year, just not to go against taboo. 農曆新年的第三天在遊樂園度過一天,不要違背禁忌。

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

Among the local Chinese circle, an unspoken taboo on the third day of Chinese New Year discourages locals from gathering and seeing each other.

在本地人中,農曆新年第三天的一個不言自明的禁忌: 大家不要拜年。
在本地人中,农历新年第三天的一个不言自明的禁忌: 大家不要拜年。

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.47.14 pm.png
Merry-go-round, spin for good luck

Fung shui psychics unfold the myth: a force field on this day may toggle the anger switch in people easily making them short-fused and quarrelsome. To stay away from the taboo, my family and I had a day out at a local amusement park. It was packed and crowded with tourists but I was able to keep my cool, though queuing at times was quite chaotic there.

風水師說: 在這一天的一個力場可以很容易使人爭吵。為了不打破禁忌,我和家人在迪士尼樂園度過了一天。這個公園擠滿了遊客,但我仍然能夠保持冷靜,儘管排隊有時非常混亂。
风水师说: 在这一天的一个力场可以很容易使人争吵。为了不打破禁忌,我和家人在迪士尼乐园度过了一天。这个公园挤满了游客,但我仍然能够保持冷静,尽管排队有时非常混乱。

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.49.01 pm.png
Off we go to the park

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.47.50 pm.png
Aloha. By the way, I'll be sticking up a series on Hawaii onto Steemit next week. Stay tuned.

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.48.02 pm.png
Fancy a ballon?

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.49.31 pm.png
Long Q, long wait...

My boy had fun with amusement activities but I, a mid-aged geezer, found the sunset to the most spectacular thing of the day. I was standing on the pavement for some two good minutes just gazing at the warm and shimmering “egg yolk” calling it a day.

我的孩子在娛樂活動中玩得很開心,但我是一位中年大叔,我自己非常愛上今天的日落。我站在人行道上約兩分鐘,只是凝視著那天溫暖閃亮的“蛋黃”。
我的孩子在娱乐活动中玩得很开心,但我是一位中年大叔,我自己非常爱上今天的日落。我站在人行道上约两分钟,只是凝视着那天温暖闪亮的“蛋黄”。

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.48.45 pm.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.47.39 pm.png
What a view, a close-up of the sunset

We concluded the day trip with a three-course a-la-carte start-of-the-year evening meal. Three in Cantonese phonetics has a sound “San” literally mean “lively”, I intentionally ordered three dishes and I hope my family and I are going to stay with some energetic vibes and in good health.

我們結束了這天行程前吃了一個三道菜的開年飲飯晚餐。三在廣東話語音中有一個聲音“San”字面意思是“活潑”,我故意點了三道菜,希望我和我的家人在新的一年健康。
我们结束了这天行程前吃了一个三道菜的开年饮饭晚餐。三在广东话语音中有一个声音“San”字面意思是“活泼”,我故意点了三道菜,希望我和我的家人在新的一年健康。

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.48.22 pm.png
Wok-fried scallops, shrimps and broccoli

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.49.18 pm.png
Sui-Mei platter: Suckling pig, soy sauce chicken and char-siu (BBQ pork)

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.48.34 pm.png
Wok-fried grouper fillets and choi-sum

One fun thing to note: Carrot was moulded out of the Mickey Mouse shape. My boy nibbled down all those Mickeys. :-)

一件有趣的事情要注意:胡蘿蔔塑造出米老鼠的形狀。我孩吃了全部米奇。 :-)
一件有趣的事情要注意:胡萝卜塑造出米老鼠的形状。我孩吃了全部米奇。 :-)

Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.48.12 pm.png

I am just home now and in need of a shower, physically exhausted after the whole day wandering around the park and queueing.

我剛在家,需要洗澡因為在整整一天在公園四處遊蕩並排隊等候後身體很疲憊。
我刚在家,需要洗澡因为在整整一天在公园四处游荡并排队等候后身体很疲惫。

Ciao and happy Chinese New Year. Photos and content are original.
再見。照片和內容都是原創的。

Sort:  

very nice impressions, like it 😊

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 15:11:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 180.30/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

新年快乐!cn区点赞机器人 @cnbuddy 很开心你能成为cn区的一员。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

十年冇去迪迪尼LOL

我而家一年一次 就系新年

Glad you enjoyed yourself/the sunset!

That was the thing of the day I enjoyed most.

The egg yolk in the sky hehehe... Don't look directly at it. The food looks delicious. A Disneyland?

I have never heard of that taboo. But I guess you can go yourselves as a family, just not any large gathering?

Ya, disneyland in hong kong. Perhaps that is just a hk chinese taboo. We have been told to avoid gatherings. So some, superstitious (like me) or wanting to go with the custom, just simply stay at home or do things individually or in very small group.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60180.20
ETH 2604.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54