Office Dress Code | 辦公室服裝守則 - 辦公室隨筆 (二)

in #cn7 years ago

I saw our new colleague, who was just transferred from Europe to Hong Kong, sitting at the seat next to mine. I was little bit unhappy about our Administration Manager who should have given this colleague enough information like where is his seat before he onboard. Especially this colleague had visited Hong Kong office for 2 day in June within his personal trip in order to get familiar with our office environment.

星期一早上回到辦公室,竟然已經見到今天正式由歐洲轉識過來的男同事坐在我旁邊的位置。心想我們的行政部經理真是越來越不像樣了,同事上班竟然沒有跟他說清楚他坐的位置!人家還特地在6月份來香港旅行時上來辦公室呆了兩天,熟習一下環境。

PathForeWord-Dress-Code_1.jpg

Being a nice guy, I showed him his office so that he could start to settle down. There were only few people around the office at that early hours, and was not yet time for work, so we chit chat a bit. There was a typhoon close by, so we started our conversation with weather, like office arrangement during adverse weather conditions, what was our office hours, etc. All of a sudden, he pointed at me and asked :"This is a question for myself, what exactly is our Dress Code?" He continued after seeing my stunned face :"I saw you dressed like this... oh... don't get me wrong, I used to like this in Europe (pointing at me), not like this (pointing at himself)."

人的我當然會把新同事帶到他的位置,希望他能盡快安頓下來。由於時間尚早,辦公室沒有多少人在,他亦閒着無事,所以我們閒談起來。他理所當然地從天氣說起,談談惡劣天氣下的工作安排,再說到上班時間,突然,他指着我,一個問題發過來:「請問一下公司的服裝守則是什麼?」我呆了一下。他繼續說:「我見你穿着這樣的衣服上班......不要誤會,我在歐洲是這樣(指着我說),而不是我這樣的(指着自己說)。」

Let me described how we looked like. He wore shirt and trousers and black leather shoes. Basically what Hong Kong people refers as Business Causal. I was causal (some may refer this as smart causal), that is in polo shirt with company logo, jeans and sport shoes.

讓我先在些形容一下我們服裝吧。歐洲同事穿的是辦公室常見的裇衫,西褲,皮鞋。就是香港人說的Business Causal。而我剛是身穿有公司標誌的Polo裇衫(高爾夫球衫),牛仔褲,運動鞋,大部分人會叫這身衣裝做Causal有些時候會叫作Smart Causal。

He was told that Hong Kong office has Dress Code that requires at least business causal, that's why he dressed up like that, instead of just causal as he used to be in Europe. I was in my causal clothes that day because of the rain.

為什麼歐洲同事會有這個問題呢?原因就是他聽說香港辦公室一般都要求至少Business Casual的服裝,所以他亦入鄉隨俗,穿起這一身Business Causal衣服。而不是在歐洲平時會穿着的Causal服裝。因為天雨的關係,的覺得還是Causal服裝方便一點,所以我就這樣回辦公室。

We are a US company, used to without any Dress Code. As the number of Chinese management members increases, there was increasing pressure on establishing a Dress Code, which was officially launched a few months ago. No more sportswear for Gym during lunch hour! Actually we don't have Gym during lunch hour anymore! Would discuss that later.

其實我們這一家美資公司,原來是沒有什麼服裝守則的。大家喜歡怎樣穿都可以,只要不是太過分就可以了。不過可以因為來香港多年,而且香港人管理層越來越多,近年開始有聲音說要規範一下。後來就有了幾個月前發出的服裝守則。現在已經見不到同事們為方便午餐時間去健身室而穿運動服的樣子了。其實連去健身室的時間都沒有了,這是後話,有機會再談。

67A1A402-3FCE-404E-BB83-89D6334A05C807202011_Corporate_Fitness_article.jpg

Back to our European colleague, he was a team manager in Northern Europe, requested to transfer to APAC when he realized there was a similar position available here, probably due to his Asian girlfriend. He normally dresses causal to work, maybe he was not used to dress up in Hong Kong, that's why he was a bit disappointed when he realized our Office Dress Code.

話說回頭,歐洲同事原來是北歐區的一個團隊經理,知道亞太區有個差不多的職位,就要求轉職過來,大概是因為他的亞洲藉女朋友的關係吧。而他原本在歐洲上班都是像我當日一樣的Causal打扮,應該不太習慣自己要Business Causal 的上班吧,所以見我這樣穿就問了起來。當知道原來我們的守則是要穿得像他一樣的時候,好像感覺到他有一絲絲的失望。

polo_Jeans.jpg

As for myself, I hate wearing suits. I had to wear suits for about 10 years in my past career because my job required a lot of customer facing time, it was killing me during hot summer time. Ever since I changed my job to this company, I started to wear in smart causal. After I the chances to work in overseas offices, I like the way they go to work in causal wears so I follow them even in Hong Kong office. I don't know why we end up with that Dress code again. Is it because Chinese are more conservative in culture?

至於我自己,則是極不喜歡一身西裝的上班。雖然之前的工作需要,我有大約十年的時間是要經常面對客戶,所以每天都是一套西裝的穿在身上,夏天時真的是熱的要命。轉了這份工作之後,已經甚少穿整套的西裝。後來到了外國的辦公室工作的次數漸多,我也漸漸的跟隨了他們比較輕鬆的服裝安排。可惜好景不常,現在又要經常裇衫,西褲,皮鞋的,感覺很不爽快。現在我還真是羨慕經常不在辦公室的工程師們可以每天都可以輕便裝束。到底為什麼公司香港辦公室會有這樣的改變呢?難道真的是中國人比較保守嗎?

Chinese_man.jpg


Img Source 圖片來源: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

IMG_1080.JPG

Should you be loyal to the company or yourself | 忠誠的對像,是公司還是自己 -- 辦公室隨筆 (一)

Sort:  

原來穿西裝還有分啊~ 學了 一課

我也是剛剛才知道的.

OK, this sucks. It is like going backwards.

Sad but true!

见客户的话,还是要穿衬衫西裤皮鞋。如果不见客户的话,我觉得就舒服文明就行呗。公司怎么那么多要求!!

公司始終是人治的,跟隨人的喜好而定規則,就會出現各種不同的要求。😂😂😂

所以我都不上班,现在自由在家,挣得少还忙得要死,但是也很自由。

在家中工作就可以看TVB了.

你說得太對了。我就是一邊工作,一邊看 TVB!

最近在看什麼劇集呢?

超時空男臣啦啦

緊貼着香港,利害!

我總覺得香港背景的公司高層還是學英國那一套
之前在香港高層背景的公司工作,dress code算是同行業最嚴了,男生必須打領帶
好在現在工作非常自由,穿衣很隨意

打領帶很不舒服的.可免則免.

有時真的想穿舒服一点上班😟

大部分人都會這樣想吧

不用每天穿西裝是我找工作的基本要求之一

一星期只有3天需要穿西裝, OK?

哈哈看有沒有需要了~如果只是因為過往的習慣而要求穿西裝,我接受不了~

應該是看行業與工作性質吧,通常傳統性行業如銀行,律師或是對客戶好像較保守,IT就較輕鬆。中國人或是外國人管理好像沒差,不過以前在英國IT公司工作多年都要求 business casual, 星期五就可以 smart casual

為什麼香港的IT人不像美國的IT人一樣可以每天都causal呢?

對,服飾也收緊,更不用想什麼home office了,唉

Home office在外國是常態,在香港叫發夢

妹子我目前的公司因為太太太太小了!
所以我們穿衣服沒有太多的限制,我記得我有次上班還被副總問說,怎麼? 你晚點要去海灘開party嗎? LOL

妹子一定是穿得很漂亮的說!

哈哈~~ 我都穿得很隨便耶~

女生跟男生不一樣,女生隨便穿都可以好看。男生隨便穿在香港叫「佬」。會被鄙視的。

我只知道"金魚佬" :P
不過我幾個當媽的同事,倒是很常被長官唸穿得太像睡衣((明明就是T-Shirt跟牛仔褲...

在香港,凡是"xx佬"都不是好的形容詞。

原來啊~~ 長知識了!! :D

The clothes we wear reflect our personality, so we have to carefully choose what we wear in the office. In the past days, my colleague came up with a very short skirt and all my colleagues drew her attention that she should not wear this in the office

In fact, ladies have more choices of clothing than men. Don't be too harsh on ladies. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61