[ANNOUNCEMENT] No takers for free hosting? Ok :). Announcing STEEM.VPN, paid in SBD [TESTERS NEEDED!]

in #cn8 years ago (edited)

So a while back I decided that I'd offer my company's app platform free to steemit/steemit users since it was growing a diverse array of ecosystem apps

but it seems that wasn't to be, but I wanted to do something cool, anyway.

Introducing STEEM.VPN

Anonymous_emblem.svg94e37.png

Actually, anyone who wants to take me up on the hosting offer only needs to e-mail me at [email protected] same as before. Nonetheless, I keep thinking of ways I might be able to help out around here, and of course most of them are tech related or tech driven or similar. With no further ado, I'd like to present to you the router that we'll be selling loaded with VPN goodness.

But wait-- there's more:

  1. First 3 Chinese users get a free month. And as far as I know this is a totally different fanqiang than anything out there, it's not:
  • Shadowsocks
  • SSH
  • OpenVPN
  • L2TP
  • IPSEC
  • IPSEC2
  • Softether
  • Govpn
  • Tinc

It's something different, and new, and awesome. I'm deliberately not using its name because that might decrease its useful lifespan.

  1. How this work?

This work:

  • No e-mail
  • No phone
  • No passport
  • No ID
  • No credit card
  • Only SD, that's it.

There are two reasons for this post (so for the love of god please don't whine about the fact that it exists, or doesn't have a screenshot, or what have you. It's invisible, that's kinda the point!) :

  • Judge interest in the concept
  • Solicit feedback

It is NOT complete, here's the task list:
[ DONE ] build the vpn itself
[ DONE ] create configuration files server-side
[ NOT DONE ] windows clients
[ DONE ] Linux and mac clients
[ NOT DONE ] Test, test, test. In my own personal tests, which were both qualitative and quantitative, this new VPN protocol lived up to every claim its authors have made:

  • Drastically improved latency (meaning: ping times went down)
  • Significant reduction in wasted cpu time for equivalent tasks
    [ NOT DONE ] Security audit performed by me and a third party
    [ 50% ] Build an automated sales process that protects user anonymity

Here's the beta test plan. First of all, the first batch of testers should include a few people in China. There'll be no fees for the first batch. If you want into the first batch of testers, please (and I'm sorry, I haven't figured out a better way to exchange info yet, but will, with time, for those who need to be anonymous) just contact me via a $.001 message and We will get you set up. Currently, here are the platforms we support:

  • Linux
  • MacOS
  • OpenWRT

Windows users, we're coming, but not yet.

STEEM ON!

Oh, and for those of you who have known me a very long time, I hope but will not promise that the mammoth will finally, finally land with this project.

Wanna upvote me? Great. Thank you!
Wanna follow me? Great! Thank you!
Don't wanna upvote me? not a problem, either.

But please for the love of all that's geeky, don't ask me for VPN screenshots ;).

Here's one though!

Latency was under 200ms and throughput >5MBPS in highly, highly un-optimized environments.

Ha, I lied about that screenshot. Oh, and if you want to know the name of the protocol or anything else please just get ahold of me in a non-public forum to preserve the staying power of this particular Fanqiang solution for Chinese Steemians.

Sort:  

Superb idea! A VPN protocol that's totally new and the censors won't know how to block.

Steemit isn't blocked in China, but the Youtube video are, and so is steemimg.com (meaning tumbnail links won't work). I was asking just a couple of days ago how to post videos from Youku or Tudou so Chinese users can see them. I also tried posting thumbnail links to images on postimage.org, but their coding doesn't work here.

An exclusive steemit VPN would really help out. I'd volunteer to test but I'm on Windows AND I'm already paying for a VPN (that is also anonymous).

Good work!

Hmmm....

Yeah I do need to do something about the windows client. I don't consider this very much of a viable product until I do. I will keep you in the loop.

Thanks for sharing this article, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43