Eating Scorpions in Beijing

in #cn7 years ago (edited)

Since everyone is talking about China right now I thought I'd devote some posts to this amazing country.
When I visited, I heard of a market where one could eat scorpions - Yandai Xiejie (Old Town Beijing). I'm curious and adventurous and this piqued my interest.
image
When I got there however, I must admit that it freaked me out a bit. The scorpions still had their venomous tail tips intact...full of potentially paralyzing and deadly poison! Supposedly if you cook the tail hot enough the poison is neutralized....but what guarantee did I have that the guy working the little scorpion skewer stand would cook it enough? Just as I was about to change my mind a group of elderly people came to the stand. They were probably in their mid 70s. Looking at me they realized I was scared and laughed a bit at me and told me not to worry. They eat scorpion every time they come to Beijing. So I thought "if they can do it, so can I". I ordered my skewer of scorpions that were then cooked right in front of my eyes and very hesitantly bit the little pointy tail tip that just a few moments ago contained a deadly poison...it did give me a little thrill. It was delicious. It was crunchy and spicy like a mixture of potato chips and shrimp. Sometimes it really pays off to face your fears. They were so delicious that I'm sad we don't eat scorpions in Europe. ;-)
image
image
image

Sort:  

I will want to try too if there is a chance

你好。今天是你来 steem 刚满一个月的日子。由于你在中文区发布过文章,中文区新人之家“希望工程”今天特别为你庆祝满月,请点击查看。新人之家欢迎你,欢迎参加这里举办的各种活动,并期待你在未来继续发布优质文章!

Hello. Today you have been on Steem for one month. You have contributed at least one post in CN community. The Welcome Center for New Steemians is having a celebration for you. Welcome to CN community. Looking forward for more high-quality posts from you in the future!

Thank you. Did you see my other post about China? Here I'm singing "I Love You China" in Chines. I hope you enjoy!
https://steemit.com/cn/@corinnaherden/i-love-you-china-2017918t11453842z

The Chinese should make a commercial with you as the star, something like this:

I was thinking, "Oh gag, you didn't!" until you said potato chips.....I'd try it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65