You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Clarification On My Translation Project And - 如何处理生活中的不好的时候- 5个技巧,让你感觉更好 // How To Deal With Bad Times In Life - 5 Tips To Make You Feel Better (featuring @sirwinchester as author)

in #cn8 years ago

@coinbitgold I really respect your thoughts and hear you. I also just checked out your project on academia spotlight and absolutely love it! I hope you continue despite your frustrations with Steemit laid out in your last post.
I just want to address a few more things in this post that you and @bateman have brought up.
I do have a notion of what I deem is my time value, and I could be writing other posts such as my travel posts or meditation posts. I currently am working about 50 hours a week at another job, so spending time on this project means not having as much time writing my own original content, which I would still love to do. Additionally, I am not doing this to get a large reward. I genuinely want to see the Steemit platform grow and become a more diverse community. We all benefit from an expanded user base. I want to create bridges between the English and Chinese speaking community, and as a Chinese American this has been a common theme in my life. I know that translating some posts into Chinese is not going to be the end-all answer in creating this bridge, but hopefully the project can inspire people to do their own translation projects as well.
Some authors that I have reached out to are interested in translating my posts as well in various languages. I have told them that they have full permission to translate and post any of my posts as long as they reference me and provide me with 25% of SBD, the same as I provide them.
Also, like I mentioned, this is a pilot project and I had no clue how successful it would be and it is still playing out. I am going to stick by my 25% pooled payout for now. I may change this in the future, in which case I will make an announcement.
Lastly, I am not translating posts that are on the "trending page" or that are getting payouts of thousands. To reiterate my last reply, I am choosing posts based on: 1) if it will appeal to the Chinese reader userbase (such as @jholdsworthy's wonderful post) - or- 2) if it is a wonderfully original piece on Steemit that could use some more spotlight. @bateman you wrote "you are simply doing this to fill your pockets from content that is already shown to be popular and or appealing to the chinese reader userbase." I am actually trying to pick posts in the hopes of providing authors spotlights who I believe have been doing a great job on Steemit and deserve more recognition, and believe that the post deserved more recognition (yes this is subjective). I could be translating my own past posts into Chinese, which would be a lot easier, but I want to connect to other users and spotlight their pieces.
I understand your difference in opinions, and thank you for challenging me to verbalize my own thoughts :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62