Tidying the clouds

in #cloud5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-04-19 at 17.45.19.png

In among all the digital decluttering, I realised that I've got a number of cloud storage services running, none of which I use to capacity and some of which I'm paying for. So today my task was to get a handle on that and shift stuff around so that I could know where everything is (some chance, there's so much of it) and save in cloud subscriptions.

I reckon I've been spending more than £100 a year more than I need to, just in those little things that get paypal-ed out of my account every month.

One of the things that's made me balk at this task in the past is how do you get all your stuff from cloud X to cloud Y? But today I took a little time to find a command line utility called rclone which does a great deal of the heavy lifting for you. I didn't feel comfortable giving my credentials to a third-party app no matter how nice their drag'n'drop interface might look so it's worth a little poking around to get set up and learn some of the commands and options.

It's taking some time, but it will feel good when it's done.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63091.92
ETH 2469.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67