THE CRUSHENING - DAY 17 - CRUSHER OF THE RINGS

in #climbing7 years ago (edited)

Rock Climbing Training

Season 01

Workout No. 017 ~~ JAN/24

Base Fitness Phase – Week 3


Crushening Day 17.jpg
The Precious will be ours once the Hobbitses are CRUSHED!


What would you do if I climbed way off route;
Would you SOOMETHING and shout up at me?
Give me some slack, and I'll climb to the clip;
and I'll try not to take a big whip.

OHHHHHH
I climb safe with a little help from my friends,
HMMMMM
I climb high with a little help from my friends,
HEYYYYYY
Gonna crush-hard with a little help from my friends!

IMG_20180124_105617_HDR.jpg

Despite today being including another morning of walking through a bit of mud -- I'm in a pretty great mood. It was a beautiful sunny day -- and I feel like it recharged me. I needed it, bigtime. We were starting to get a little tired at the end of a long push through 4 days in a row at the climbing gym.

Before we get too far down that road, though -- lets check the map and see where we are!

January 2018 - Season 1

Crushening Day 17.jpg

Click for fullscreen version

Ohhhh team. I'm not gonna lie. I am pretty tuckered out... But look at all that green. We're like fresh grass bursting through the dirt. We're like a tall stack of dead presidents. We're like a a bunch of muppets in an orgy pit. We just annihilated the third day of our...

ARC TRAINING TRIPLE HEADER!

Lets get into it!


The Workout:

The Plan (The Good):
  • 2-Sets of 25 Minute ARC Sessions;
    • 10-Minute Break Between Sets
  • Try not to lose motivation. You know you're tired. You can do this. Ugh.
Objective Review (The Bad):
  • 2-Sets of 25 Minute ARC Sessions;
    • 10-minute break between
      *10 minutes of bouldering because I wanted photooooos.
Subjective Review (The Ugly):

The workout went pretty well today. I was training solo today, so I managed to get to the gym a little bit earlier than usual. This was a huge bonus -- the gym was quiet when we got there. I absoloutely cruised through the first 25 minute set. Climbing some interesting chimney style 5.11c (it felt easier than that), cool crimp 5.10c, play a bit of "left hand red, right hand blue" kind of climbing. It gets a little tedious doing this auto-belay training. Not super fun.

IMG_20180124_174821_HDR.jpg
Struck me as an interesting bit of #colourfulphotography

As I lay there catching my breath, looking up at the ceiling under the overhanging part of the lead climbing wall after my first ARC set (pictured above) -- I realized that the 2nd set wasn't going to be as easy. I was starting to get that feeling where if you where if you're out for a run, and you take a break in the middle, it feels really hard to get going again. We managed to slog through the 2nd set with copious amounts of sweat and shakeout breaks. Managed to spend a little bit of time bouldering at the end to get a couple of photos.

IMG_20180124_181403_DRO.jpg

By this point, I was starting to feel pretty worn down. I wasn't managing to hold on to anything for long, as evidenced by the blurry photo above. My shoulders were on fire, and my fingers had run out of friction. I knew what I needed. My hands were throbbing. I could hear the pulse in my ears, and I could feel the pulse in my hands. There aren't many things that make achey climbing hands feel better than a nice, cold, hoppy beer.

IMG_20180124_195659_HDR.jpg


Today, In my space that I reserve down here for cool climbing stuff, I'd like to share a book I bought that teaches about all sort of mountaineering tips, techniques, skills, and stories. If you're interested in improving the depth of your knoweldge in climbing, check out Mountaineering: Freedom of the Hills. This book is great, and incredibly informative.


Be well, stay safe, and I'll see you on the sharp side (once it dries out around here).


Previous CRUSHENING posts:


The Pitch!

If you've made it this far down the post, then I give you mad props. This shit was longer than just a photo.

After my first few weeks on Steemit, I spent some time thinking about how I can make this space a little sexier. And two things came to mind that could really enable some cool looks at some cool places:

  • A drone;
  • Trad gear;
  • A van (and subsequently, gasoline -- Ideally, electricity).

Your votes and resteems will go towards making sure no rock goes uncrushed. Any funds withdrawn will exclusively go to climbing gear, climbing toys, climbing adventures, and some photography gear (drone) for climbing photography purposes. I have my own job for groceries.

When this post becomes roughly 24hrs old, I will use a portion of the liquid funds I have available and purchase some votes for this post. Get your votes in before that, and enjoy whatever curator rewards you can get!

Please vote and resteem generously. There's some amazing places on the island that I would like to share.

I try to respond to all questions and comments that I get, so make some noise! If you have any questions about some of the climbing jargon / lingo I used, just ask, and I'll break it down. I might even make it a feature in my next post, in which case I'll give you some credit, and maybe even some kind of reward... unknown at this time -- nobody has asked any questions... Yet!!

Sort:  

Oh man, there is so much to unpack in this...

Firstly,

Would you SOOMETHING and shout up at me?

Is either the most genius line ever, or you forgot to think of something better than something.
It's also the most common lyrics my partner sings... pretty much because even though she's a fantastic singer, she forgets or doesn't not know all the words to all songs.

Here's a question for you young man, what is Trad gear? I've never actually heard that term before...

How long are these climbing sessions? I love that your training and not just climbing... I haven't been to the climbing gym in a while, but I rarely saw anyone training... they were all just having a climb.

HAHAHAHA I totally forgot to replace that! I put it in there as a placeholder and thought "I'm sure I'll think of something clever and come back to this.." However, now I think I'll just leave it -- because I like it now. I usually try to stick with just mumbling when I can't htink of words, or swapping in some profanity.

Trad(idtional) gear is rock climbing protection that you slip into cracks or other 'weaknesses' in the wall, rather than quickdraws. Cams, nuts, hexes, and other pieces of gear that wedge into cracks and hold via friction are trad gear. Stuff like this:

gear

The type of climbing I do outside are all bolted routes -- commonly known as 'sport climbing'. These are routes where someone has drilled holes and placed expansion anchor bolts and hooks in the wall, which get hooked into with quickdraws:

draws baby

Right now, one of my daily climbing sessions is about 1~1.5hrs long (including breaks). The entire training "season" including the performance window (which I try to line up with outdoor trips), and 2 weeks of rest, takes about 17 weeks. Usually if you see someone on an auto-belay, or if their belayer is letting them go over and over and over again in a row, they're probably doing a similar kind of ARC / Endurance training that I'm in right now -- especially if you're like "that dude looks super strong, but he's climbing stuff that's maybe a bit too easy for him...?"...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 08:26:28
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 654.05/800.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 97
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @mstafford! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 31.57% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54