Global Climate Strike - Tomorrow (Sep. 20th, 2019)

Tomorrow I will be joining the global climate strike to help spread awareness about the climate emergency we are facing.

It's the least I can do. Not just for myself but also for my 2 young kids. They are too young to fight for their future so I must do so for them.

But through Wild Homesteading I'm also trying to help others to work with nature, grow their own food, and build a natural life. These solutions are not enough on their own to solve the climate emergency but they are a step in the right direction.

Plus, these solutions promote human health and well-being in addition to supporting wildlife and nature in general.

On my own wild homesteading I'm restoring just under 3 acres to support local wildlife, grow food for myself and my family, and sequester carbon.

But there is more that I can do to.

I'm going to take on a new challenge to stop eating processed snacks. I have already given up soda pop (I call it coal juice to help me stay away from it) but I still eat other processed snacks. It is a bad habit that hurts the environment, contributes to the climate emergency, and hurts my health.

This is often how it goes--what helps the environment and addresses the climate emergency also promotes and improves human health and well-being. You can't support human life in the long run if you are destroying the planet.

Giving up processed snacks won't make a huge difference in the climate emergency. But it is something I can do now and that I have full control over. Plus, it will build on the other efforts I'm already taking such as growing some of my own food, biking to work when I can, and planting thousands of trees/shrubs every year.

So what are you doing to help address the climate emergency? Please share in the comments and please consider joining a climate strike tomorrow on September 20th 2019!

And thank you @pennsif for sharing on a regular basis 5 things you are doing to help the planet. In a lot of ways I have been nervous to dive into this issue but your posts have helped me get the courage to be more open about my views around the climate emergency and biodiversity loss.

Sort:  

It's already the 20th where I am (Australia).

Don't know what I'm going to do different to what we already do around here. One thing my partner and I have been wanting to do is set up a small garden and a worm-farm to take care of the food scraps. Inner city living not so great for it. We hardly produce much waste, our bins are rarely even 1/3 filled when collected weekly, but it would be great to give back to the earth in some manner, somehow on our little patch.

Do it. At least you dont need to drive much being in the city.

Worm farm is a great idea. I'm getting ready to setup one for my food scraps. I'm also going to see if I can get my work colleagues to give me their food scraps. I'm just going to put a small bin (with a lid) in the break room with a sign that says what the worms like and what they don't. It is a small office so I'm hoping it will work. Got to do what we can to make a difference! Plus, worm castings are great for gardens :)

Cant make the rally in Melbourne now due to work and appointments. Watching on medias and sobbing about how awesome the kids are. Wish I had have taken day off. My son is there.

My eldest was there in Adelaide with the university. I don't think I could have handled the crowds. It was an amazing turnout.

Posted using Partiko Android

Luckily I was able to skip out on work and it was great going with my wife and 2 kids. They are little but I wanted them to be there.

I've been meaning to put together a post for pennsif's five for the planet, so thanks for the reminder. I should write it down so I don't forget again!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm thinking about doing a 5 for the planet each week. Seems like a good thing to do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68441.01
ETH 3847.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66