Climate Change, Corporate Greed

in #climate8 years ago (edited)

I have no problem acknowledging the fact that the earth's mean temperatures are rising incrementally... BUT what I do have a problem with is, being taxed on something that is in no way MY fault. I am not to blame for the air quality in Shanghai. The rising emphysema rates in New Dehli. I am merely an inhabitant of this planet, who was not given any choice in the path society has been shaped. If we were more agrarian, I'd be a farmer. If it were bone dry, like Mars, I'd be a water harvester. But I live in a capitalistic society, so I am a consumer. Point is, I can change and adapt to whatever situation I find myself in. Can the big corporations, WHO ARE responsible for the pollution, adapt and change in a capitalist society? I don't know, that's up to them.

Incentivize corporations to change their manufacturing ways is the direction our leaders need to be heading. Just shipping off the jobs to a foreign land, is in no way fixing the problem of pollution. It's just shifting the problem to people we care less about than ourselves. AND THAT IS THE PROBLEM. We have lost our humanity in search of fame and riches. Self-fulfilling narcissism coupled with greed and the desire for more, has stripped us of treating others with dignity and compassion. In a capitalistic society, people's value is based on their utility, not their worth or what they can contribute to others around them, but rather what they can contribute to their money making masters. Becoming a cog in the system, stripping one's identity in the process. You become a worker number, or a tax I.D. number.

Now having said all that... I start to get suspicious when I hear a phrase spouted over and over again... as if there is soft mind-control going on. I'm privy to the concept of repeating something long enough until it's believed as fact. Keep saying "Climate Change" repeatedly is making me doubt it more and more.

Especially when their solution is to milk the populous with Carbon Taxes, but do nothing to the larger polluters and mega-corporations who can actually make significant changes. I already have done what I can... I learned about recycling in the 80s. I ride a bicycle more and more, even despite my age. I shun owning a car, but use public transportation or rent a car only when I have to. I bought into CFLs in the 90s, now it's all about LEDs. I'm hip to living in a tiny space. I'm OK with eating less meat, if that means less cow farts. I'm all about solar panels in my roof. I'M THE ONE WHO HAS BEEN CHANGING ALL THESE YEARS!!!

Why hasn't our corporate overlords done their part yet? Instead of pushing this phony tax onto us to shoulder their burden even more! When I know damn good and well, that the money they raise will not fix climate change one bit. The earth's temperatures will rise, and fall again. Cyclically, of course, just like nature intended. BUT some asshole is going to be making a fortune on carbon credits and nothing will have been done. Nothing meaningful anyway.

Sure, they'll keep cramming us into smaller and smaller boxes, telling us it's good for the environment. And we'll meekly take it up the ass, if that means some spotted African tree salamander can live in peace. I'll continue to live with white guilt, always checking my privilege at the door, before I enter the Tofu hut. But hey, it's all about the environment... so it's OK.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ecomouse! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ecomouse! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81