Ship it back and break free from plastics

in #cleanplanet5 years ago (edited)

I received an email from Greenpeace Asia last 26th of February. It was an invitation to an open boat tour within the Rainbow Warrior ship. It was a two-day event on the second and third of March at Pier 15 in the city of Manila. I signed up for the first day.
Rainbow warrior.jpg
As we gathered from Guru, one of the crews who had short talk before we went further inside the ship, Rainbow Warrior is Greenpeace's ship being used to campaign against environmental issues. This is the third Rainbow Warrior of Greenpeace. The first one was bombed by French nationals in New Zealand because of Greenpeace protest against French nuclear test in Moruroa. The second one was sold for $1 (basically a donation) in Bangladesh and is now a medical ship.

I was wondering how my email address got into their distribution list until I read further down the email.
image.png

Then I went back to body of the email.
image.png

That number one on their list. Yes, I joined the online protest to stop Nickelodeon from creating underwater theme park in one of our most beautiful resorts in the Philippines - Palawan! Our online voices made the noise that drove the threat away. Now, Greenpeace is back with another campaign. It is against plastic this time.

The main purpose of the ship tour is to raise awareness among individuals about how large corporations are playing a very big role in destroying our environment because of the plastic packaging of their products, more specifically the single use plastics.
No excuse.jpg

The meeting place was a Shakey's restaurant. It was still closed when I arrived at around 8:40 AM. My slot was at 9:00 AM. There was a van in the parking lot with volunteers waiting outside of it. Right when I approached them, they were getting ready to depart to the port. Right on the last minute! Otherwise, I need to wait and go with the next batch.

We were dropped off in a facility where we first registered before entering. When we got inside, I realized it is a hall where merchants are selling their environment-friendly products. There was Greenpeace volunteer speaking on the stage. That was when I understand the theme "ship it back" means to ship those plastic wastes back to the large corporations who manufactured those wastes for them to realize what they have done and what they are doing in destroying the environment.

ship it back.jpg

There were many guests so they allow entering the ship by batch. We, with my batch mates from the van, were scheduled on the second batch. As we were waiting for our turn, I roamed around the hall and had fun with the products on display. I was amused to see so many varieties of organic soap. There was papaya, cucumber, adlai (which I had to research if it is an English word), charcoal and more... I thought they created soap from every fruit.

Products 1.jpg

Products 2.jpg

On some tables are not merchandises but campaign materials, I thought outcries, against environmental abuses. As I was hovering over the Greenpeace table, a volunteer approached me and did a little talk. On a tablet, he was showing me gross photos of the effect of plastic wastes. The photos were from a disaster when places in Metro Manila were flooded and children were swimming in garbage. It was very alarming to see those photos. On the later photos, he presented the top corporations who "contribute" to the horror!

Outcry.jpg

He mentioned Coca-cola as the top offender, followed by other giant corporations like P&G and Nestle. Those were the ones I remember from his tablet but there were more. I later verified his presentation from this Greenpeace press release. Another reference is the audit report where you can see the list of branded pollution by country and corporation. You can go jump to page 25 if you want to immediatey see the list.

image.png
Source

Okay, enough with that roaming and talks. Our batch was finally called to board the ship. When we got up, one of the crews, Guru, greeted us and made another short talk. He introduced the Rainbow Warrior ship which we were in. He relayed a brief history as to how it became the third Rainbow Warrior of Greenpeace.

After Guru's short talk, we were handed over to Sabina who led us inside what they call as the "bridge" of the ship. I thought it is that airplane cockpit. I do not remember which of these switches and buttons are for which. I can only remember that they are able to know how deep the water is beneath the ship. And the best thing that I learned from her talk is that they have water purifier on board. They purifier water from the sea but not less than 12 miles from the shore. Sabina mentioned that water near the shore is not safe even if they have the purifier.

Bridge.jpg

Forward further into the ship, we went down and got to the helipad of the ship. That was were we had few more talks from the volunteers.
Seminar.jpg

Ali, one of the volunteers, talked about few tips to avoid or at least minimize plastic consumption.

  • Bring your own eco-bag when going to the market or grocery stores
  • Ditch plastic straw
  • Avoid usage of plastics at home
  • Patronize environmental friendly products
  • Be responsible in disposing wastes
  • For parents, instill environmental awareness to your children as early as possible

She also talked about where this plastic monster came from and what they plan to do with it: ship it back! She pointed out that everyone plays a part of the waste. Consumers play their share of the pollution because of irresponsible disposal of plastic wastes. On the other hand, corporations that manufacture these plastics play the bigger part. If they did not manufacture the plastics, there will be no wastes like these. The demand from Greenpeace is for these corporations to find an environmental friendly packaging of their products.

Wastes.jpg

Bisyus Psycho

Our addiction to plastics create a personal vice (bisyo) that tends to dictate the way we live and affects our psychology (psycho), the way we look at things. This plastic monster made of plastic items extracted from Manila Bay waters since 2017.

Each of plastic represents one corporation, one person, one act that destroys our seas, our lands, our communities. On the other hand, it may represent hope, like how each volunteer represents the desire for change in the world.
~Amado Guerrero Saňo
artist/ environmental activist

Bisyus.jpg

At the end of the tour, I realized one thing that never occurred to me before: "If they did not manufacture the plastics, there will be no wastes like these." That totally makes sense! On the other hand, I hope everyone will be responsible enough, both in garbage disposal and in curbing use of plastics. Still, consumers play a big part in cleaning and maintaining our environment.

#Greenpeace #PlasticMonster

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Hi. great initiative.
if you have some time please visit Discord

Thanks to use cleanplanet Tag for this post !
We would like contact greenpeace too...
We will try it and work together
See you soon using cleanplanet tag
@cleanplanet

Thank you too for dropping by.

Safely back home and catching up a bit, interesting reading @macoolette! From your list ...

  • Bring your own eco-bag when going to the market or grocery stores
  • Ditch plastic straw
  • Avoid usage of plastics at home
  • Patronize environmental friendly products
  • Be responsible in disposing wastes
  • For parents, instill environmental awareness to your children as early as possible

We do most of these things here in our home. Very difficult to buy basic necessities these days without them coming in some sort of plastic container. We are diligent though, if the little recyclable symbol is on the bottom, to put it in our recycle bin. Then take it out every week for our waste service provider to haul off to recycle centers. Now, do they actually take it there? Or just to the local landfill ... 😧

We've heard various reports, but hope for the best ... Big for me is to drink out of glass containers, rather than plastic containers ...

Thank you for this report!

Welcome back @roleerob! I am sure you are well rejuvenated with your trips. Your travelogue has been amazing and full of adventure that I was not able to keep up with all of it. 😊

It is very good to know when people are environmental conscious at home as a regular way of life and not only when there are natural disasters that we learn our lessons.

Recyclable plastics are somehow acceptable but still non-biodegradable in the long run. I have the same question as to how the wastes are being disposed. While some municipalities and cities here are imposing waste segregation, there is always a question in my head as to how the non-biodegradable materials are being disposed. That is because I do not know any locality that has recycling facility. But yes, let us hope for the best.

Yes @macoolette, rejuvenated 😊 ... and "back to my real life" where I have responsibilities ... 😧

The issue of the use of plastics is part of a bigger issue of what many here would refer to as "sustainability." That is, are we living in a way that is sustainable? It runs smack up against the cold hard realities of businesses cutting costs, what people are voluntarily willing to pay for vs. costs being imposed on them, etc.

I could write a whole post about the much more insidious issue of inflation and how businesses cut costs to avoid passing on the need to raise prices. To offset the devaluation of whatever currency they may be using to account for their profitability. Plastics are simply less expensive than their glass or metal counterparts ...

I think, sadly, plastic is just the "tip of the iceberg" in a number of interrelated problems we have ... Okay, I'll jump down from my soapbox now ... 😉


P.S. If I didn't "jump down," then I'd have to write about my experience years ago in Chile and comparing their mining practices with those of their competition in America ... Not a pretty picture ... Overall, part of the same fundamental problem ...

Responsibilities do not go away, no matter how long you took a vacation. 😃

I totally agree that the plastics are just small portion of the real problem. I may have forgotten my economics subject but yes, it is all about cost. They may not replace the plastics with glasses or metals but the least I would love them to do is be responsible all throughout their plastic life cycle and not only until those are distributed to customers. I am hoping for recycling facility for every plastic manufacturer and they buy the plastics back. I think this will inspire consumers to collect trash.

Well, yes. Maybe you too can write about your experience. 😊

Nope @macoolette ...

"Responsibilities do not go away, no matter how long you took a vacation. 😃"

... "you can run, but you can't hide", so ... Had to come back and "face the music" ... 😏

These are old sayings here in America. I wonder sometimes the source and context of these old sayings ... 😉

Ultimately the responsibility for the cost comes back to "we the people" ... All of the infrastructure to truly recycle on the scale needed is massive. And thus far beyond the reach of any one company ...

So ... Faced with these costs, do "we the people" support the organizations which make a valiant effort to be good stewards, but still pass these costs along to us consumers? Or do "we the people" buy whatever is cheapest product (which of course doesn't have any of these good steward costs embedded ...)?

I can't speak for the Phillipines, but here in America, the choice is far more often the latter ... Which brings us smack up against having freedom vs. compulsory compliance imposed on "we the people" ... 🤔

Did somebody say "complicated?" 😉 Yep! 😏

Posted using Partiko Android


P.S. So we can still be friends ... 😉

>
@roleerob’s weekly recycle bin

Wow! You really took photos of your garbage bins. Very good! You're a model citizen. 😊

I think it is the same here in our country wherein people go for what is cost-friendly to them. But if all organizations embed in their system the cost to sustain the products including the packaging until the end of its life cycle, I think people will have no choice than to follow. On a larger scale, that would mean too high inflation which I wonder if it is at all possible for countries to keep up without going on bankruptcy. Indeed, it is complicated. 😄

Well I don't know about being a "model citizen" @macoolette, but I will take your response as an indication we can still be friends. 😉

I have long been and will always be an advocate for good stewardship of the earth's resources (voluntarily executed and rewarded by a system of free enterprise) ...

But ... I have also always been and will remain an unrelenting adversary of any "one world" arguments - the ultimate in the centralization of power ...

Thanks again for your efforts to write about this @macoolette. Hopefully, "we the people" will continue to make progress in solving this global dilemma.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hopefully, "we the people" will continue to make progress in solving this global dilemma.

Yap. Efforts that seem to be so small because it is just by individuals can be collectively huge.

What a nice day to spend on the "Ship is Back!" @macoolette😉 I'm not against greenpeace but somehow I want to know if the manufactures stopped their production, how many employees would lost their livelihood? If consumers stop buying their products, will they keep produce it?

It just something in my mind. I avoid to use plastic in my daily life, not 100% succeed .. but it cheapest and less fragile😊 if I want to buy an eco-friendly one, I couldn't afford it😊 So, I wish that those manufactures would buy back the waste instead of sharing their CSR funds to make big events and promotion.

Thanks for sharing your wonderful day with us😉

Hi there @cicisaja! The aim of the campaign is to awaken those big corporations to stop producing plastics specially single-use plastics. That is, they should find a different way of packaging their products in an environmental-friendly way. To me that does not mean people losing their jobs but just a change on what they do.

I used to work with Kraft (now Mondelez) and they have Research and Development team. This R&D team should be researching on stopping their non-biodegradable wastes. Yes, buy-back can be another option and that will mean these corporations will have to have a recycling facility. But I haven't heard of any large corporation having such facility. With the protests against them, let us hope they will realize doing so.

There was once when I cancelled all my grocery items when I forgot to bring my own bag and they are selling the eco-bag at what I thought was too much. But if we buy the eco-bag even at high price, it can be re-used over and over so the price will pay in the long run. That experience was a lesson learned for me. 😊

😂😂😂 you know about the Eco bag my dear @macoolette 😉 I bought 2-3 of them😊 and now they're all become a waste too😂

When you said eco-bag is very expensive, I was thinking about this kind of eco-bag.

And not this one which is like a semi-fabric type.

If you are referring to the red type then yes, they don't last that long but at least, they are biodegradable.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Nice post.. people should stop polluting our beautiful wold with plastic west..

And who are the people?

we are the people.....

So i never knew coca cola is part of the top ten plastic polluters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95