Polymer clay : Turtle

in #clayartcontest7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians! Here's my entry for the clay contest hosted by @josejirafa, but I was too late for the entry so I will just show you the process. For more information about this contest, please check the link here.

IMG_2298.JPG

a.jpg


So here's how I made my turtle clay. Let's get started.

Materials:
polymer clay ( flesh and black color)
pastel ( brown and green)
toothpick
clear and brown nail varnish
cutter
soft brush


The process:
1.jpg
First, cut a piece of flesh clay for the body, flips, cover shell, head and for the tail. Roll it over in your hand and form a round shape. For the body, form an oblong shape. For the 4 flips form it like letter c and press at the tip to connect at the body. Create a head shape and pince his face. For his tail, shape a teardrop. And lastly for the cover shell, roll it over using any round cylinder to flatten.

Now, it's time to build a turtle. After the figure is done, put the cover shell at the back of the turtle and create a design using a cutter. Shade it with pastel, using smooth brush. Apply brown pastel first, then next is the green then blend. Cut a very small piece of black clay for the eyes. Use a cutter to make his mouth open.

Preheat your oven into 110° for 10minutes, then bake it for 30minutes. After it's done, cool it down then clean the excess pastel powder. Apply brown varnish for the spot of his flips and head, then apply the clear varnish for the final touch. Let it dry.

And it's done! Hope you like it and I love doing this project. See you in my next blog!

Thanks for dropping by!


1.jpg

26179619_10210985982589761_490858721_o.png

Sort:  

Thank you sir :)

Hey there @tonie. I guess I lost track of time and ended my contest before the 7 days period. That would be unfair for you. I decided to bend the rules and gave you a small gift for your work. Thanks for joining.

Hello... No worries I still have a chance to join this week... Thank you so much for the reward you send, I'm thankful I received it...:)

Wow!
great to see your work step by step
the endresult looks very realistic,
you will be entering for next weeks contest?
Can't wait to see what you will make next

Thank you @cryptocatz , yes maybe I will join if I have time :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tonie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65