Embarking on a new journey

in #classical-music5 years ago

20190607_121703.jpg

The ability to improvise has to me always seemed something mythical. The ability to spontaneously create music has the aura of a special talent, given only to a chosen few and withheld from others. As I do not consider myself one of the chosen few, I've always thought that I can not improvise.

As I used to play in services, I did learn to, well, let's call it 'make sound'. As an entree or a sortie I could play the organ and thus create some background. Yet what I played went from nowhere to nowhere, it did not have a form, it did not tell a story, it was, in other words, not real music.

It is only since recently that I realized that improvisation can be learned. Ons has to practise to learn to play the written music of composers, and likewise one can practise to improvise one's own music. The prospect of learning that type of practise seems really thrilling to me.

Recentely, @organduo wrote a post about improvisation (https://steemit.com/organimprovisation/@organduo/when-your-taste-is-better-than-your-skill-z3xdu2vh).

Two sentences in that post really caught my attention:
"I felt free. I felt myself. This sense of freedom is what intregues me the most about improvisation."

That's when I decided I could perhaps learn to improvise as well. After all, I'm good at practicing... :-)

So I bought a few books that can serve as a guide on my journey of practicing improvisaiotn. The first one arrived today, and my journey begins. It won't be an easy journey. I suspect the most difficult obstacles will ly within myself. Inhibitions and fears of 'not doing it right' will probably proof to be quite a challenge to conquer. But the freedom of selfexpression @organduo describes and the chance of becoming a better musician it my motivation to start anywqay.

Perhaps I'll share a few of my stumbling steps along this path.

Sort:  

Wonderful! Good luck in this new journey... And of course please share some of your experiences here.

And remember that the most difficult part in improvisation is sitting down on the organ bench.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the encouragement.
By the way, it's intruiging to note that I wrote this post, on PalNet. Now I can see the post on SteemIt too and read you comment here. On PalNet I can see there is a comment, but I can't read it there.

O, I was too quick making that last remark. You comment is now visibel on PalNet as well. There is some delay obviously between the two platforms.

You are welcome! I'm just using palnet tag and publishing a post from partiko app. This way my posts should still collect palcoins.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 40% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

One of my long term goals too! Good luck. @organduo is right, the hardest part is sitting down and starting! I haven’t got to that point yet 😅

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76