A Rare Treat - Jamming with MomsteemCreated with Sketch.

I have a special treat for my Steemian followers...

I was visiting my parents yesterday and was able to convince my mom to not only play some music with me, but to also let me record us playing together so I could share it with you all!

This piece, Csárdás by Vittorio Monti, is one of our favourites and a salute to our Hungarian roots. We hadn't played it together in probably a decade, so it was a little rusty around the edges, but not bad, considering! Haha.

We made it all the way through and it was a nice reminder of the days when we would spend hours doing music together. The Hungarian style has greatly influenced my playing and I love the gypsy feel of this piece in particular. So much emotion and flare. We take some allowances with the timing, which can be tricky when playing with someone else, but my Mom and I have played together so much that we know each other's cues like the back of our hands, even after all this time.

I also really love the variety of sounds that the Hungarian pieces use, like the artificial harmonics (that I had to remember how to do) in the middle of this piece. For those, I'm placing one finger fully on the string and then using another finger lightly touching above it to create this effect.

Let me know what you think of this piece and maybe if there's some good feedback, I'll be able to convince my Mom to do more with me! :D

Stay tuned ;)

Jackie O

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Oh wow :) This is so amazing. You both are amazing and took me to another world. So, great

Thanks for listening @rifkan! Glad you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aahh that is where the Musical comes from!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99