You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Openmic-Tutorial for Pianists/Composers: How to compose a piano-melody @senzenfrenz

I'm new here, @senzenfrenz, so this is the first time I have seen you. I don't compose or play myself but I like your melancholy piece.

Did the melody come from playing with (improvising on) the pentatonic scale, before you though of developing it within a 16-bar structure?

For what it's worth - not much, I admit - the opening made me think of a motif from Mahler's 'Das klagende Lied' (33 seconds in: https://tinyurl.com/js9mj7v), though you quickly take it in a different direction.

Keep up the good work. Great to have some interesting - and original - musical content on the platform.

Sort:  

Welcome @gussiefinknottle, yes as you say it is first improvised and then developed as a musical form. And wow, yes, this is mahlers motif from the beginning of the "klagendes Lied", I wasn't aware of that. But I love mahlers music it is fantastic and I definitely am inspired by the german romantic composers, so perhaps I am using some motifs in a similar way intuitively. Thank you very much for your insightful reply!

Just one of the those strange coincidences - there are only 12 notes after all. It's a great little motiv, which is why it's in my head from the Mahler.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47