Nighttime City View of Downtown Chicago

Here are some more photos from my walk along the Chicago River this week. These were taken after the sun had completely set, so they really didn’t work for last night’s #magicalhour post. The first photo is a long exposure shot, which I think nicely captured the gold reflections of light on the water. This shot was right at the point where the Chicago River forks into the North and South Branches looking up the main part of the river towards the lake. I set my camera on a concrete ledge to steady it for the long exposure.

F7B6ED33-12BB-4194-B0B2-FBA9C997577B.jpeg

The building lit in purple with the clock tower was at one time the headquarters of Encyclopedia Britannica, and is a classic example of the Chicago School of architecture. I can’t imagine encyclopedia Britannica is still in business but the name is still on the clock tower.

C05F5BA6-BB2B-4C39-BBCD-DAFC46E2B16A.jpeg

Here are a couple more long exposure shots along the river.

1CBB1EF1-A20F-4BC9-9623-D932E5F6C0E8.jpeg

F0E2756E-F561-4631-98C3-D8BF04DD5BA9.jpeg

This is my contribution to the #photocircleproject’s #cityviewphotography contest.
Below are the daily themes for the #Photocircle project.

Monday quest : Nature & People photography
Tuesday quest: Animal & Magical Hour photography
Wednesday quest: Vehicle & Architecture photography
Thursday quest: City view & Street photography
Friday quest: Macro photography

02B6D93F-18F6-4A61-9E84-99BBDAA11B6F.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

These are awesome night shots so beautiful, love the reflections on the water

Thanks! It was over 80 last night in Chicago so this was a good week to be there. Dropped 30 degrees today but I’m back in Maryland now.

For this time of year 80 is good has been low 70s at best here fir the last week

Long exposure always amuse me, hard to get!

With the app on the Sony camera, it really makes it easy!

Thanks for the tip!

Spectacular city photos! My son got sent home from work in Chicago this afternoon when they cleared his office building and sent everyone home before the verdict in the van Dyke trial. I was glad that he was safely at home when it got announced! I know it was a tense time for the city.

Thanks! I left for the airport early just in case the verdict wasn’t received well. Glad to see they held the cop accountable.

I'm glad to hear you were aware of what was going on and got out of there! I'm sure the city is much less tense this weekend then it was prior to the verdict!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69