A Cold Night With No Jacket

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

During vacations we love going out at night to see life after the sun has gone down. The city of Baguio in the Philippines is known for it's cold weather and the lowest temperature so far this year is 11.4 °C in early January. A weather that I would prefer rather than the scorching 35 °C in the city. Let me just share with you some photos in one of our night walks.


A Cold Night With No Jacket

1.JPG

cold.png

If you would be roaming around the streets in Baguio you would be better ready to do a lot of walking. Not only that since it is on a mountain expect the sidewalks and streets to go uphill and downhill. You would be getting a lot of exercise if you want to go window shopping or exploring. Since I don't do much exercise this was a challenge for me.

2.1.JPG

You might be wondering about the title. Is it a good idea to go out without a jacket on a cold night? Well it has been raining in the afternoon and there was no stopping me from exploring with no umbrella. In return my jacket was damp as a wet dog. But that does not stop us from exploring the streets of Baguio with just a t shirt.

2.JPG

I'm not sure what the weather was that night but it was cold. I could see people wearing coats and sweaters. I said to myself, "Everyone is wearing a jacket. Where is my jacket? I should have at least put on two shirts".

3.JPG

The night was so alive and still a lot of places to go to. Night markets, restaurants were open and the streets were safe as police can be seen everywhere.

4.JPG

The night market was a very busy place where tourists flocked at this time. Again came to my mind, "Maybe I could get a jacket there." Something cheap like a poncho or something but decided not to as we were on a tight budget. I thought that my jacket would be dry by tomorrow. We'll just keep on walking to build up the heat in my body.

5.JPG

Passed by some alleyway my mind again told me, "Hmm some sort of music bar maybe it is warmer inside there." That was it and a sign that we needed to go back and just stay in our room. Would have wanted to explore more of the streets of Baguio to take some more night shots. I could still tolerate the cold but decided not to. If I got sick that would really ruin things. Anyway it was a nice short stroll and next time I will be ready.

6.JPG

Before we headed back we passed by a doughnut shop as @bearkid wanted some doughnuts. I myself needed a hot drink and a short rest from the uphill climb.

Thanks for joining me in this cold night. The nights maybe long and cold but it is a time when magic happens. It maybe thru a click of a shutter, a spark of a conversation, a delectable meal or just enjoying the still of the night.

7.JPG

cold2.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

These are some really great shots and I really like it.

Thanks I appreciate it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 15:48:46
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 634.88/800.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You have some wonderful photos!
I just saw that you're a new one in steemitbloggers!
I hope you will enjoy your stay with us!
Together we have an energy to do anything!

With love @spellmaker

Hey thanks! I appreciate the warm welcome. Thrilled to be a part of it and meet new people 😊 still waiting for the invite. I love the energy of the group

Beautiful shots, I've never been in Baguio but planning to go there before the year ends. I just noticed how clean their streets are even at night.

Yes it seems pretty clean. They are strong against littering and smoking in public areas. Do visit as it is quite pleasant just be ready for a lot of walking.

Well that would be a great exercise.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 13:36:18
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 640.08/800.00
Total Photos: 48
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

sana mkapunta din ako diyan someday..

Travel bro we only live once.

Nice. Do you live in the Philippines?

Yes I do. Here we took a vacation up north in Baguio city. Have you been here before?

Your opening image was a good choice, quite effectively enticed me in. Some wonderful street shots here, nice little tour of the city.

I would have taken more and better shots but it was cold lol. Thanks for checking 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55