Photography - Monochrome night shot

n645971629_1912636_7034.jpg

I took this photo a few years ago at around 11pm. The factory in the shot is a sugar beet factory in Spalding, Lincs, UK.
I had gone for a walk and as I crossed the bridge over the river the light playing on the steam from the factory caught my eye.

I almost always carried my camera at that time. I had a fairly simple Olympus OM10 SLR at the time but it did for me. As it was night time I had a bit of a problem. With the longest exposure needed I couldn't stand and hold the camera as I would just get blurry images. I had no tripod, nor cable release/remote action lead (in the day before timers on cameras were standard). What could I do?

I placed my camera on the wall of the bridge - not too close to the edge to risk it falling into the river below. I looked best I could through the viewfinder (no 3.5" led screen in those days). Once I had it all set up to my liking I very gingerly pressed the shutter release. I did this three or four times and hoped I'd get one good shot at least.

As this was way before digital photography I couldn't tell if my picture(s) would be any good until I got the film developed. In some ways that was part of the excitement but it could also be very frustrating. Especially when it was a one off chance of a photo. Luckily my partner at the time and I had a darkroom set up at home, so when I returned I developed the film and voila! One of the pictures turned out good enough.

The best of the bunch was still a little fuzzy but not only was I pleased with the picture but the sense of achievement in doing that was great - I feel that is lost nowadays with the digital, print immediately photo-culture. Don't get me wrong, it's great fun nowadays too, I just think that something that was good got lost.

@juliank

follow me steemit download.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:56:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43