Cityscape Photography: Mgarr, picturesque fishing village on Maltese island of Gozo

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hey my Steemit fellows!

I am here with another photo-memory of Malta, an enchanting little country located in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea.

The following image might be classified as a landscape photography by some but since the main subject of the shot is the beautiful Maltese village of Mgarr, I am submitting it to the #cityscapephotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.

P5270115.JPG
Click on the image for full view

You have probably never heard of this charming little place before so let me provide you with some background information first.

Home to just a few hundred people, Mgarr is a small fishing village on the south-eastern coast of Gozo, one of the islands of the Maltese archipelago.

The village consists of literally several streets centered around the harbor which is the most important part of the town, providing ferry service to Comino, another Maltese island and a popular day-trip destination for tourists.

We came down to Mgarr from Marsalforno for the ferry too and it was during the short cruise to nearby Comino when I took this image of the “skyline” of Mgarr :)

Btw, the Comino Island is a truly stunning place with breathtaking landscape and the trip is definitely worth it! So remember to check it out once you get to Malta. Just make sure not to mistaken this Mgarr for the one found on the main island – there are actually two towns of the same name in Malta :)


Czech: Do dnešní foto soutěže jsem vybral tento snímek pořízený na Maltě někdy v květnu 2014. Je na něm zachycena malebná rybářská vesnička Mgarr, která se nachází na jihovýchodě maltského ostrova Gozo, kde jsme tehdy žili. Význam této vesničky spočívá hlavně v tom, že je to jediné místo na Gozu, odkud se dostanete na překrásný ostrůvek Comino. Ale o něm zase až příště ;) Hezký den všem česky a slovensky píšícím Steemařům! :))

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Really nice colors. Vibrant, I like it! Thanks for sharing.

Krásná fotka :) Pěkné barvičky. Já jsem člověk, co úplně nesnáší zimu, takže teď trpím a těším se na léto. A tvá fotka má takový krásný letní vibe, i když byla nafocena v květnu :)

My taky radši teplo a hlavně moře :) Proto často před zimou utíkáme :D Třeba se z tebe díky Steemitu taky stane nomádka :) I když s pejskem je to určitě těžší...

Nedivím se, že utíkáte. My s přítelem právě zimu nesnášíme oba, nevím, co ještě děláme v ČR :D Tedy vím. Zrovna si tu stavíme dům, takže se asi tak brzy nepřestěhujeme, i když člověk nikdy neví, co život přinese :)

@phortun one of close friend once visited malta and told us that it is sooo damn beautiful.

it is! :) thanks for stopping by :)

Your post makes me want to travel to Malta

Just awesome! Malta is high up on my list. Along with Prague in the Czech Republic. I see you are from this country? and friends with @chechglobal host? I just got intouch with him. I'm hoping to meet him this summer when I visit that part of the world.

So you are now living in Mexico? What do you keep busy with there? I really like that country. Mexican food is some of my favorite. About six months ago I enjoyed a Steemit Meetup in Playa Del Carmen in the Yucatan. Gorgeous part of the country!

Thanks for stopping by may page and dropping a note on the my Real Life Galapagos post. I'll be following you. I don't have the SP that our friend in Prague has, but I'll put you on my vote bot to show my support.

Keep up the great work! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Hey Dan, thanks so much for this comment, the follow (I followed back) and your support :)

Yeah, Malta is sweet (one of those few countries you havent been to yet, right? :)) and so is the Czech Republic, my homeland. We havent met in person with Tomas from Czechglobalhosts yet but we cooperate here on Steemit. I help him with managing his blog and he supports mine :) He is an awesome dude and great Steemian, you should definitely meet him in the Czech Rep. when you get the chance ;)

As for me, I have been working as a digital nomad for the last couple of years and I am currently based in Mexico. And gues where! In Playa del Carmen :)) Too bad I was not on Steemit those six months ago when you were here for the Steemit Meetup, I would have loved to meet you and other Steemers too...

How is life in Ecuador? How much longer are you gonna stay there?

Ha ha! Playa del Carmen! How about that. One of my favorite spots in all of Latin America. I certainly think you made a great choice to base yourself out of that town. I really love that place.

Now I have very little travel experience in Europe. So I'm really looking forward to it. The whole "Travel-Pro" thing for me comes from the 11 years of experience of living out of a backpack in mostly 2nd/3rd world countries in Latin America and Asia....on a small budget. There plenty of people that have been to more countries than I have, but I've lived my own special travel lifestyle for a loooong time :)

That is fantastic that you've been able to team up with Czechglobalhost so well. With him carrying all that SP....literally more power to the both of you! But more over he seems like a really great guy.

Ecuador is nice. This is a country I mountain Biked the entire Andes north to south the then the entire coast line South to north! All while getting my permenent residency card here. So I'm most familiar with Ecuador than other countries in the region. I also have some business going on here which has kept me here longer than I'd like. But within a week (no exact date) I'll be hopping on a bus and heading south to Mancora Peru.

At least that's the plan at the moment. Then moving at a much faster pace south into Chili, then Argentina, but I have to get back to Florida to see my father's new house in early May. So we'll see how far I get. After I see his place in May, I'll get one of those cheap Ft Lauderdale to Europe Norwegian Air tickets.

Finally I'll explore Europe and meet lots of steemit friends I've made from that part of the world. Yes too bad we did not get to meet 6 month's ago when I was in town. @lucypher is my contact there. He just moved up to Cancun. He's a pretty big deal on the platform with 73 rep and runs the successful "steemit open mic" competition.

However I've got a feeling our paths will cross eventually. Anyway I'm so happy to have met another great person on this platform. I'll certainly be in touch! Keep up the great work! -Dan

Thank you so much for this elaborate reply, its not that usual to put this much time and effort into a comment :) I really appreciate it.

I love you backpacking lifestyle, I think I have been living somewhat similar life but not for so long. Plus we prefer to stay at least several months at one place.

Europe is beautiful my friend, just soo much to see and do there but be ready to increase your budget significantly, some European countries are just insanely expensive... But I am sure you know that already :)

We will definitely keep in touch as I will probably be in Europe too by the time you should be there so it would be really nice to meet up.

Safe travels and keep up the awesome work on this platform Dan!

I know what you mean. Not too many leave comments like I do. Like in real life I keep my friends few, but close. I'm only following less than 80 people. I'm happy to consider you a friend here too now. I also see that you don't follow many either; totally respect that. Means each person you do follow is that much more significant.

Besides that. I never did Face book. I never spent much time on the computer. My whole adult life has been travel and my primary form of communication has been email! So I write all my messages like they are emails! That's just my natural way of communicating! lol Never do text messages, nothing. Just email for years!

Regarding Europe being expensive; that's why I've never traveled there! lol. Didn't fit my "travel pro cheap ass budget!" lol. But now with steemit it's doable. But I'll surely spend less time in the more expensive countries and more time in Eastern Europe which is less expensive. I'm also more interested in Eastern European Culture anyway as that's where my family lineage is from dating back several hundred years. You know how us Americans are all mixed up.

So seriously no need to reply to this email...I mean message at all. I type really fast and think quickly too, but it still takes time, so really it's all good. Please don't feel obligated to reply at all.

I'll just say, thank you for reaching out to me as well. We'll stay in touch and that would be great if all three of us (czechglobalhost) met together this summer. Have a great day! -Dan

Wow, another "email comment" :D Makes sense to me now though, thanks for the explanation ;) I am gonna be brief though - have safe travels and hopefully, see you and Tomas in the Czech Republic this summer!

PS: I am really honored to be one of those 80 ;) Have a nice day too my new Steemit friend.

Malta. Ještě pár tvých fotografií a pomalu se tam vyznám, aniž bych tam kdy byl ;-)

Malta je tak malinká, že by to asi fakt šlo :D Přidám ještě pár míst a už to budeš mít skoro komplet.

Díky krajane ;-)

Krásně barevné. Připomíná mi to trošku ostrov Symi, nedaleko Rhodosu ;-)

To je pravda, řecká přímořská městečka také hrají všemi barvami :)

Thanks for sharing. A lot of interesting informations. I want to visit Malta for quite a long time. Photo is great as always ;) Have a great evening...

Thanks :) Malta is not far from Slovenia, I am sure you will make it there soon ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 18:52:40
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 888.10/1600.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 173
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cityscape-photography-mgarr-picturesque-fishing-village-on-maltese-island-of-gozo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50