A Missed Opportunity Turns Into A Night Adventure Along The Missouri River

in #cityscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

A missed sunset turns into an impromptu adventure. First I headed out to Hummel Park high in the Missouri River Bluffs.

2018-02-14-22-25-40.jpg

I have been planning on dropping a good amount of cash on a new camera set up since around November. Waiting until after Christmas was a good decision to get the best deal. Don't be fooled by the word 'sale', as the word is used to fool the bargain shopper these days and don't necessarily bring you the lowest prices.

I settled on the Canon T7i 800D with the video creator bundle. Along with this I purchased a couple extra battery packs to extend its use on my adventures. This is a preliminary review.

81b35jZy7nL._SL1500_.jpg

The Missouri Valley is lined in between Bluffs, which are artifacts from the rivers force when it was at its widest. Hummel Park sits right on top of the Nebraskan Bluffs, overlooking N.P. Dodge Park at the rivers edge.

The Scenic Overlook in the park gives you a near unobstructed view of the Missouri Valley with The Iowan Bluffs in view about ten miles across, as the crow flies.

2018-02-14-18-56-12.jpg

Above is the shot taken from the Scenic Overlook in the opposite direction of the sunset. There ended up being no good accessible areas to shoot the sunset, as all were on private property.

What little bit of color I was able to get in the shot here was pure luck. It has been overcast In Omaha, NE pretty much the whole last week, since receiving my camera.

2018-02-14-18-52-17.jpg

The above shot shows the Nebraskan side Bluffs as seen from N.P. Dodge Park. Once I came back down the hill to the Missouri River for a few more shots, all color was gone for the night.

2018-02-14-18-54-30.jpg

After my disappointing attempt to shoot the sunset, I decided to head to the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge in Downtown Omaha. I was determined to get a few good shots.

2018-02-14-18-44-00.jpg

The Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge crosses the Missouri River connecting bike trails on both sides of it. The lights at the top of the two main support pylons change color by way of rotating mirrors, which the camera did not pick up very well.

2018-02-14-18-49-44.jpg

2018-02-14-18-45-08.jpg

It was a frigid day and I was originally going to wait for warmer weather before heading downtown to photograph the sights. Since I was already out of the house, I just had to put this camera to the test. I will be doing another photography trip to the downtown area in a few weeks.

So far I have only used the 18-55mm lens and still need to test out the whole kit.

2018-02-14-18-47-47.jpg

Above and below are shots of Downtown taken just before arriving at the Pedestrian Bridge and the scenery is about a mile away.

2018-02-14-18-48-49.jpg

This camera is extremely easy to use. It boasts being an entry level camera for this reason, but once you figure out what everything does, you also have full control. For most settings on the top dial, using the flip touchscreen viewer, you simply tap on where you want the focus to concentrate on and it does the rest. All of these photos where taken with the preset settings, except the last one.

2018-02-13-11-00-18.jpg

This photo was taken after crossing the bridge from the Iowan side of the river. The camera takes beautiful shots where there is plenty of light.

2018-02-14-09-24-29.jpg

The cold was getting to me and I know my pups paws where reaching their tolerance levels, so instead of getting shots throughout the city, I decided to wrap it up shooting the bronze and polished stainless steel sculptures in front of the Quest Center.

2018-02-14-19-04-44.jpg

When trying to set up the shots here, the architects obviously didn't choose the lighting points to allow unobstructed views of the Sculptures for photographing.

2018-02-14-18-39-31.jpg

All in all I am impressed with the quality of photo this camera creates and would suggest this camera to you. While mirrorless camera's take more crisp shots, this Canon boasts 45 points of autofocus, which allows it to do a better job staying in focus while shooting video. I do plan on Vlogging in the near future and this is the reason I chose this camera. I am currently practicing being in front of the camera, as I suffer from camera shyness. Once I work past this and the weather improves, I'll be posting more often.

2018-02-14-18-58-52.jpg

Above is a shot taken from my daily walk in Levi Carter Park. I chose this ice clump to test the macro feature and think it turned out quite well. I was using the 18-55mm lens, but I believe using the 55-135mm lens for this function is suggested. I plan on purchasing a macro lens in the near future, as well.

2018-02-14-18-58-02.jpg

The photo above is a shot reproducing the one taken from my smartphone, which is what was used to create my cover photo. The rest of the shots are taken from Levi Carter Park from a couple days earlier than the main photos from this adventure.

2018-02-14-19-00-51.jpg

With Spring coming, Carter Lake is a popular stop-over for many types of migratory birds. In the past I have had the pleasure of encountering a Pride of Eagles and hope to get an opportunity to photograph them this year.

2018-02-14-18-57-15.jpg

Above and below are shots of Omaha, NE taken from a rough distance of about four miles. Above is taken using all auto settings during the day. Below is taken using an ISO setting of 25600. I am happy with how it turned out.

2018-02-14-19-02-42.jpg

My only issue with the camera at this point is the WIFI connectivity. I have been unable to connect the camera to my smartphone, which I was counting on while making my decision to buy a camera.

It turns out the Android App does not work on all Android devices and the Canon support is quite lacking. Or so the reviews for the app and my experience proves. I almost returned the camera because of this, but decided to keep it when I found a way around this issue. I simply use an SD card with an adapter instead of the card provided.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Please make sure to get outside and record it for other's to enjoy.

#PayItForward because someone has done right by you.

And most importantly, help keep our area's clean by practicing Leave No Trace Principle's.

Here are some more of my adventure blogs:

Forest Lakes Trail- Rollinsville, CO

https://mspsteem.com/blog/@notconvinced/my-four-day-adventure-hiking-the-forest-lakes-trail

Sandia Tramway- Albuquerque, NM

https://mspsteem.com/blog/@notconvinced/sandia-tramway-as-seen-through-my-eyes

Rio Grande River Gorge Bridge- Taos, NM

https://mspsteem.com/dtube/@notconvinced/2kbivjer

Living A Mindful Life Using Leave-No-Trace Principles

https://mspsteem.com/nature/@notconvinced/living-a-mindful-life-using-leave-no-trace-principles

The Beautiful Sights Along Omaha Riverfront Trail

https://mspsteem.com/travel/@notconvinced/beautiful-sights-along-the-omaha-riverfront-trail

Line Dividers provided by;

Best Animations

fg-a.com

clkr.com


Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 00:36:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 131.80/200.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=notconvinced
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-missed-opportunity-turns-into-a-night-adventure-along-the-missouri-river


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NotConvinced from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73