SAGRADA FAMILIA - CityScapePhotography in Barcelona, Spain

in #cityscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

I took this photograph in Spain from the sidewalk in front of the Sagrada Familia.  
This famous church was designed by Antoni Gaudi,
who died in 1926 before much of the church was built. 



Though Gaudi left elaborate plaster models detailing his plans for finishing the church,
his plans were basically destroyed about 80 years ago.


  


This church was mostly built in the last 4o years,
with architects attempting to figure out how Gaudi had wanted the church to be built.  



As was apparent during our visit after Steemfest3 in November 2018, the church is still under construction-- and is currently the longest running construction project in the world.


  

@saramiller and I enjoyed the outside views on a sunny afternoon in Barcelona, Spain, with several hundred other people in awe of the Church's intricate design and beauty.  



There was also a sidewalk full of people shopping the kiosks, and a huge line of people wrapped around the building, waiting to make entry inside the church.  





Sara and I settled for a photo shoot outside the fenced perimeter, took a couple of hours to bask in the brisk air and setting sun, while admiring and capturing some of this Church's unequaled grace.



I'm personally not much on history or the history of things,
nor am I religious or savvy on churches around the world.  



But I really do love an incredible design, sculpture, architecture, lines, contrast,
symmetry and asymmetry, enjoy seeing how things are constructed and
appreciate the process and final outcome of great beauty.



I hope you too appreciate the details and these works,
and take this opportunity to share some of your CityScapePhotography.


THANKS FOR BEING HERE.


Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography


Sort:  

Ahhhhhh....awe!!!! What a beautiful comment---truly BRILLIANT too! Thank you @steembirds for making me laugh as I'm sitting her all by myself with my computer. Grateful to be here with you and receive such a blessing. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! That was awe....some!

My upvote button is going crazy. It has clicked on and off and on and off and now it's just going round. You must have stunned it!

Yeah we stunned it... part of the SteemBird master plan! lol Awesome to connect with you as always 😎😎

You definitely did!!! That was a really awesome video. I played it several times and just sat here and smiled! Thanks for making my day with such a personal touch. I really appreciate you being here. <3

Wow! Just amazing!

This was one of the most amazing pieces of architecture that I've ever seen in real life! So glad to have experienced it with you @everlove.

It was indeed magnificence. So much to explore and to appreciate. Grateful to have seen it with you @saramiller.

wow! I just stumbled on this.
I was trained as an architect in school, and i remember when our lectuter asked us to write a paper on the history of any church building in Spain.
I choose this building, and this baby got me an A!
Thanks for the nostalgia!
And i'll be looking forward to your Architectural Photography wednesdays
I'm folowing you asap!

That's an awesome comment @dop-dop. I'm not sure why I didn't use this as a photographywednesday post, I suppose I was just inspired to share it today so you could stumble upon it. Grateful to bring up some good memories and for your thoughtful post. I appreciate your being here. Cute screen name!

Thanks.
Really looking forward to architectural photography wednesdays!

The various angular shots of the church have made your post quite unique. The church comes alive as if it is in real life. Then the photos of the sidewalks too show people in action, almost as if they are not still-pictures.

Thank you for these great works of art.

Thanks for your comment @sungbojus. I love seeing life from many angles, so I just naturally do that with my photography too. I'm grateful for your appreciation and the aliveness of your comment.

Really breathtaking stuff! I've heard Barcelona is really awesome and Sagrada Familia is world renowned. It was nice to see it from your point of view! :)

I'm sure there have been millions of pictures taken of this church. I'm grateful to have experienced it and to have had an opportunity to catch a few fun perspectives. Thanks for sharing it with me @naydenova.

My pleasure entirely :)

This is indeed a beautiful and magnificent structure. You did a great work ma.

Nice post! Barcelona was one of my dreams. I went there in 2015 and it was fantastic. Sagrada Familia looks so colorful from inside.
IMG_5140.JPG

Wow! That is truly breathtaking @aganieha! I too found Barcelona to be an incredible city. A trip worth a repeat! Thank you for sharing this photographs. I appreciate the blessing.

Now, if ever HAD made it inside....I might have liked that cathedral I could only ever find "gaudy". Sacriligeous to say of Gaudi, but I take the perogative as somebody who was forever racing around the darn building for a number of years, trying to get to my students on time, without ever finding the time to join those dratted queues!
Love, from a TEFL teacher who took over a decade to get over leaving the Big Bad B (tough place to work!).

It's amazing how we can forego somethings of enjoyment for the duties we feel called to engage. I chose not to join those dratted queues. Not my thing at all!

What is a TEFL teacher and the Big Bad B?

Teacher of English as a Foreign Language. Can be tough at 20. So the city sometimes seemed quite a bully to me.

Aha!!! You took a big bite to chew, yet I'm sure if you engaged the opportunity you will be better and stronger for it. As far as cities go, I loved Barcelona. I'm not much of a city girl, but I do have great appreciation for it. Thanks for your reply @sukhasanasister.

I love this place in Barcelona!
very nice photos!

We loved it too.

Wow... This is the excellent and nice photography .awesome.. Photo thanks friend

Glad you like it @cryptolive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48