A Brief Cigar Review - Sobremesa Tiempo

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

Sobremesa doesn't have an exact translation, but loosely refers to the time spent at the table following a meal. Time spent in conversation, drinking, relaxing, and of course enjoying a fine premium cigar. The Sobremesa was created by Steve Saka, former CEO and President of Drew Estate Cigars. Steve left Drew Estate to get back to what he most loves about cigars, creating and crafting cigars.

Wrapper: Rosado Ecuador Habano   
Binder:  Matacapan from Mexico
Filler:  Criollo hybrid blends from Nicaragua, and ligero broadleaf grown in Pennsylvania.
Vitola: 6 x 54 torpedo
MSRP: $13

A cigar buddy from Hawaii sent me this Sombremesa, which is my first. He is a big Drew Estate and Steve Saka fan, he thought I would enjoy it.

The pre-light scent and draw is that of sweet cedar, slight pepper, not much else. My guillotine cut produced a perfectly open draw.

The construction of the Sobremesa is flawless, at least it seems to be while examining it. The wrapper is incredibly smooth, the draw perfect, yet to the touch, the cigar is nice and firm. The burn so far is razor sharp with a nice white ash.

The flavor profile during the first part of the cigar produces great flavors over my palette. I am noticing notes of cocoa, espresso, and a chili spice. There is also a strange woodsy flavor that is hard to describe. The best I can do is pencil lead, yes, it is like chewing on a pencil.

The smoke is incredibly smooth, as well with the retrohale. Sobremesa has a complicated blend of four filler tobaccos that were grown in Nicaragua; Criollo viso from Pueblo Nuevo, C-SG seco, which is a Criollo hybrid from Condega, and Criollo '98 viso along with a hybrid ligero from Estelí. The blend also includes broadleaf ligero grown in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. In addition, it has the wrapper of rosado Ecuador Habano leaf, and a binder from Mexico. Whew! It took me a while to research the blend.

Steve Saka and Johnathan Drew seem to always think outside of the box while crafting smokes, producing many complicated but wonderful blends.

This was the last snapshot right before the first ash fell off. You can see the sharp burn-line. The ash remained solid slightly longer, up until I gave it a very gentle tap and it fell in the ashtray. This is always a success, since half of my cigar ash seems to end up on the floor, or even worse, my lap.

The flavor profile stays consistent up until the halfway point. Then a nice almond note joins the flavor party, as well as a more prominent cedar taking over the woodsy department of the flavor profile spectrum.

I am impressed overall with the Sobremesa Tiempo, it is a smoke that seems to be in my wheelhouse. Probably yours too if you enjoy a medium, well balanced, flavorful but smooth cigar. 

One of the great things about being part of the online cigar community is getting recommendations from others who have similar cigar likes and dislikes.  Even more so, like this smoke, the best recommendations are the ones sent directly to your mailbox ;-P  
I probably would have overlooked the Sobremesa if I was browsing the cigar shop on my own.
I hope I can help grow the Steemit cigar community.

Sobremesa Tiempo: 8.75/10

I appreciate your views, upvotes, follows, and resteems.
Feel free to comment.., I dig interacting with fellow cigar smokers, or any who find interest in it.
-Greg
  

Buy Sobremesa Tiempo at Famous-Smoke



Sort:  

I might start taking some pictures of cigars I'm smoking and posting them in the comments. My $2 Carmack's Special is probably not going to interest to many people though. I bought an exquisitely wrapped Leaf Maduro last weekend. It was a nice smoke.

I think that would be cool! If you are not into reviewing or writing about them..., then the new proposed changes coming to comments as far as higher payouts would be beneficial. Pictures with a short opinion would be great.

I enjoyed the Leaf by Oscar, I don't remember it being anything off the charts, but it was good. I can't recall which one I had. I need to pick up the maduro soon.

Tweeted..for a new kind of promotion. #cigars :-)

Ooops, forgot to reply to this one earlier. I appreciate the tweet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64