A Brief Cigar Review - La Aurora Escogidos

in #cigars7 years ago (edited)

The La Aurora Escogidos (translated 'the chosen one'), is a budget cigar that can be found for around $2 per stick. Even with a MSRP of $6.25 each, I consistently see boxes on sale for under $40. I bought this now near empty box at one of those times. Spoiler alert:
I already know this is a decent smoke well worth the money, but I want to give it a proper review.

IMG_3335.JPG

Prelight

Wrapper: Brazilian Maduro
Binder: Dominican
Filler: Dominican
Vitola: 4.5 x 50 (short robusto)
Price: $2 (on sale)

A nice aroma of cocoa and raisin can be found when smelling at the foot, as well I notice a sweet barnyard tobacco over the wrapper.

The wrapper is oily and sports a cammo-like hue of dark tan and medium brown. Even without the secondary band, most would still discern it a maduro wrapper, but it is on the lighter spectrum of maduro color.

FullSizeRender.jpg

A small punch cut provides an easy and open draw, no surprise to me, I found this the case with the other 15 or so I have smoked out of this same box. This pre-light draw has an interesting flavor mix of leather and fruit. The taste does remind me of fruit leather like my grandma used to make.😄

Flavor and Smoke

Immediately after toasting and lighting, the Escogidos surprises me with thick clouds of wafting smoke, I mean this little cigar is a smoke stack! More than likely from the noticeable oil sheen in and covering the wrapper.

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

While so far I'm finding individual flavor notes are hard to discern, the La Aurora does have an overall taste of well aged and mellow tobacco, this is remarkable considering the low price tag.

I am able to detect a nuttiness to the overall profile, as well as a touch of leather and mixed fruit, which has a smidgen of sweetness.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

Initially, the Escogidos burn-line was sharp and even, but it has somewhat “canoed”, I will wait a short while, perhaps it will fix itself. The wrapper seems pretty thick and oily compared to the small stature of the Escogidos, as well it feels somewhat rustic construction-wise when rolling it around in-between my fingers. For those reasons, I wouldn't expect a perfect burn-line.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

A quick tip to you newer smokers: Position any slower burning part of your cigar parallel to the ground, when holding or placing in the ashtray. The lower side will burn faster, therefore allowing it to catch up and even out.

Hmmmm, doesn’t heat rise? Yes indeed, however for some science reason, this technique works, but
original.jpg
I'll let someone else blog about it.

… In any event, this Escogidos is too far uneven to catch up, not a big deal, I will just help it along the way with a little flame.

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

The ash arriving to the where the secondary band was, I still find zero harshness in the bountiful plumes of Escogido smoke, which can be retro-haled with ease. The finish on each puff has an interesting nuance which I cannot quite put my taste buds on, it is kind of bready, a dark bread-like quality such as rye, or perhaps pumpernickel would be more accurate.

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

I'm now in the final third, the flavors somewhat darken, but mostly the Escogidos is producing the same simple flavor profile. The burn-line hasn’t been perfect, yet no major issues comparable to before.

Hey, by the way, did you enter my giveaway yet?
I'm Giving Away Free Cigars! Giveaway #8
...and follow me for more upcoming giveaways!

Final Thoughts

IMG_3328.JPG

While this isn't your luxury well performing cigar, the La Aurora Escogidos is a smoke that will satisfy almost every smoker, and will do so with spare change. For me, it is a perfect cigar to puff while dinging around during the day, when doing yard work, to hand out to newer smokers, or as a supplemental smoke before my "featured evening cigar".

The Escogidos owns a flavor profile that lacks complexity and individual notes, but overall has the taste quality of smooth and well aged tobacco. It’s impossible to go wrong with an on-sale purchase of the La Aurora Escogidos.

After a bit of searching, La Aurora Escogidos currently available here in a box of 20 for $37.95
This ends June 30th

My emoji rating:🙂
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: An hour
Cigar paired with: Starbucks iced vanilla latte
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Just ordered another box

Sort:  

Nice tip.. I usually even it out with my finger and some spit (disgusting I know).. Pointing it down makes sense. In Canada we call that "canoeing" - I wonder if thats a local thing ;)

Hey saliva is a good way as well, slow down the fast burning side. I'm usually impatient and flame the slow side.
I think canoeing is a universal cigar term. Oh Canada, the cigar taxes you have to deal with up there! 😩
Thanks for the comment!

I live 30 minutes from an Indian Reserve.. they have a massive store with no tax at all - we trade with Cuba so the variety they have is outstanding - you can even smoke in the stores (laws obviously are different on reserve). They sell gas with no tax as well- 2 birds... Its ridiculously expensive anywhere else though - your right.

Oh wow that is awesome! No tax and Cubans as well, very nice. I have to import my Cubans from Switzerland, but the prices are good. A few in my group will usually do box splits, 4 or 5 of us buy 5 boxes and split them up so we have a variety at the cost of one box.

Whenever I go to a conference in states I take a couple boxes with me of the big brands.. guys go nuts for them..

Oh I bet! Here in the USA they act like Cubans are some holy grail of cigars,... but I do love a good RA, Bolivar, Partagas, or Monte

I like your cigars review even though I am not a smoker :)

Cigars > Cigarettes

Thank you, I appreciate that! 😤👍

Nice review. Another vanilla latte with no grilled chicken wings? Aww man, ive got the urges now.😇

😄 I normally have coffee with any daytime smoke... sometimes a coke or root beer... No chicken wangs today, I wish, you want what is left of my lunch?

😂

Great review! I'll have to find this one to try. I have yet to meet a La Aurora I didn't like.

Thank you! I love the old small preferidos that La Aurora put out, I am not sure if they still do. 4.5x50 perfecto if I remember right, came in cameroon, maduro, sun grown. I would always get an ash almost the length of the cigar on those.

You're welcome! The color coded tubos, they still make those but I haven't had one in a while either. I love the Gold.

Before they were in tubes they were a decent price, I was able to get them for around $5 at that size. Now I see them behind the counter at the shop, like $20... yikes.

Maybe it's a totally new blend, I am not sure.

Good morning, I've followed you and I see you make a good post congratulations, follow me and we help each other

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48